YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Melissa Walker was busy this few days signing books for her fans and getting autographs for me. xD So her interview will be later. Today we have Tera Lynn Childs author of OH. MY. GODS.! Sorry for the slight delay.

1. What was your high school experience like?
My high school life was extraordinarily boring. I was a good girl. I went to school, was on the tennis and swim teams, did my homework, got good grades, hung out with nice kids, blah blah blah. My parents had it so easy.

2. What was the craziest thing you ever done while in high school?
My freshman Honors American History teacher was a football coach. Throughout the year he returned our papers really fast and it was pretty obvious that he didn’t read them. He didn’t have time. So, about halfway through my final paper for his class I wrote, “Hey Mr. Pittman, are you really reading these reports?” When he returned the papers a few days later (with my big red “A” at the top) I asked him, “Did you answer my question?” He had no idea what I was talking about. I heard that the following year someone did the same thing and he failed them. I’m still proud of my little freshman rebellion.

3. Which was your fave subject back then?
I was a total science girl. I took two years of chemistry, two years of biology, earth science, and physics. Although, if I had to pick a more specific favorite, it would be biology. I had grand plans of becoming a marine biologist or an environmental biologist.

4. What books did you like to read when you were in high school?
I didn’t read much in high school–between homework and sports and worrying about boys, I guess I just didn’t have the time. But I know that I read a bunch of Michael Crichton (Jurassic Park, Congo, Rising Sun).

5. What was your dream job when you were in high school?
There were so many! I was going to be: a biologist (marine or environmental), a geologist, a geneticist, an intellectual property lawyer, an architect, a movie star, a teacher, a housewife, and tons more. It’s funny that I wound up becoming a writer, the one thing that I never once imagined as my career.

6. Did you ever have a part time job during vacations when you were in high school?
Occasionally I worked for my family. Either helping my dad with a furnace or air conditioning installation or working in the family horse barn (yep, you guessed it–I shoveled out the stalls). My parents weren’t too keen on me getting a real part-time job, since they wanted me to focus on my school work and my sports.

7. Where did you and your friends hang out after school?
After school I usually had practice (tennis in the fall, swimming in the spring, and sometimes basketball). If we hung out after practice, then it was usually at someone’s house. Like I said above, I was pretty boring in high school.

8. What would you usually have for lunch?
I almost always got the school lunch, and my favorite was the spiral pasta with cheese sauce. (I’m a total cheese addict, by the way.) My favorite brown bag lunch was melba toast and cheese because by the time lunch rolled around the cheese made the crispy melba toast go soft.

9. Ever eaten in a toilet stall like Lindsay Lohan in Mean Girls?
Haha, no, never did that. There were days when I didn’t feel like eating lunch, though, and I would spend lunch period in the library either researching or (more likely) daydreaming.

10. Did you like school dances or the prom?
Honestly, my senior prom is the only dance I attended. It was fun–mostly because I went with a friend and not a boyfriend–but dances in general weren’t my thing.

If you want to win a signed copy of Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs, then comment on this post. I’ll use a random number generator to draw the winner. When commenting, make sure you state what your number is. For example:

Great interview Kate!
Comment: #1

And so the next person who posts will be #2.

Stay tuned for the last part of the interview! Full details on the contest can be found here. Anyone in the world can enter!

If you missed out the earlier interviews here they are!

Part one: books
Stephanie Hale
Melissa Walker
Tera Lynn Childs

Part two: high school experience
Stephanie Hale (lots of people don’t know about this one)

Comments on: "Interview with Tera Lynn Childs part two" (13)

  1. Fun interview đŸ˜€ Science gal, can’t say I liked that, I loved history class

    Comment: #1

  2. Wow, super sporty! Tennis, swimming, and basketball? Buusy, busy!

    Comment #2

  3. HAHAHAHAH – the little bit of freshman rebellion made me laugh. Aww, now I kind of want to try that too. Except my teachers comb through things with eagle eyes, so it wouldn’t make much sense. Ah well.

    Comment #3

  4. I love school dances. I don’t know why, they are so cheesy but I love to get all dressed up and hang out with my friends. I don’t actually like to dance but it’s a little something different to do every now and then.

    Comment #4

  5. I am totally envying Tera right now! I wish I’m a science geek but I’m totally not. I hate it so much but my parents are pushing me to become a doctor of sorts. ><

    Comment #5

  6. Tera, like you I was always busy in highschool. Schoolwork, volunteering at the library, teaching assistant, tutoring some kids at school and worrying about boys. But unlike you, I never did anything crazy. Thanks for stopping by.

    Comment #6

  7. It’s always fun to read about what authors were like in school! Thanks for sharing!

    Comment #7

    Lesley

  8. HAHAHA that bit of rebellion in freshman year made me laugh! Unfortunately I don’t have any teachers like that, so I can’t try it on them!

    Comment #8

  9. Can’t wait to read!

    Comment # 9

  10. What all of my friends and I are doing in our essays this year, is putting “This is Sparta” in it.

    Comment #10

  11. I can relate. I never go to school dances. It’s just not what I’m into. Great interview!

    Comment #11

  12. I worked at Valleyfair (local amusement park) in the summers ~ I think I should get extra entries for making that kind of sacrifice.

    Comment #12

  13. Great interview!
    Comment # 13
    bball11kt@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment