YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009


Today we have the brilliant Stephanie Hale to talk about her books. Stephanie is the author of the Aspen Brooks series. Melissa Walker also did a cover story on Stephanie’s books, you can read it at her blog.

1. How did you get the idea of writing the Aspen Brooks series?
I honestly don’t know. Aspen just popped into my head one day and wouldn’t shut up!

2. How long did it take for you to write Revenge of the Homecoming Queen (first book in the Aspen Brooks series)?
The only writing time I have is my boys naptimes and bedtimes, so it took me about nine months.

3. Was it a difficult process getting your first book published?
Getting published is difficult. There is lots of competition and only so many publishers. If you really want to be a published author you can’t give up.

4. Did you put any of your real life experiences in your books?
I have asthma and so does Aspen, so I really know what it’s like to experience an attack. And my freshman class really did choose a geek to be on the homecoming court one year.

5. How can you relate to your main character, Aspen?
Like Aspen, I’m extremely loyal to the people I love.

6. What is the best thing that has happened to you since you became a writer?
Every time I sell another book it is the best feeling in the world!

7. What did you research on while writing your books?
Dooney & Bourke purses!

8. What do you do when you have a writer’s block?
I’ve never had a block but I do take lots of time off. If I don’t feel like writing I never force it.

9. If the Aspen Brooks series were to become a movie, who’d you like to play the main characters?
Aspen- Hayden Panettiere
Rand- Shia La Beouf
Angel- Alexa Vega
Lucas-Cody Linley

10. What are you currently working on?
Right now I’m starting my first adult novel so we’ll see how that goes.

If you want to win Spring Breakup by Stephanie Hale, then comment on this post. I’ll use a random number generator to draw the winner. When commenting, make sure you state what your number is. For example:

I would love to win Spring Breakup!
Comment: #1

And so the next person who posts will be number 2.

Stay tuned for the next two parts of the interview! Full details on the contest can be found here. Sorry, only US residents allowed to enter for this book. International people can enter Oh. My. Gods. and VOTR. πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Interview with Stephanie Hale part one" (21)

  1. I would love to enter! Sad to say, I haven’t read any books in the Aspen Brooks series, even though I really want to!

    Comment #1

  2. I’m in!
    Comment #2

  3. Whoa, I’m surprised that you don’t have writers block…I would think everyone has it but I guess like Stephanie said you shouldn’t force writing.

    Comment #3!

  4. Sounds great!
    Comment: #4

    Kate’s note: I merged both your comments together.

  5. I read a cover story, and thought it was awesome!
    Comment:#1

  6. Woops. Read the rules wrong.

    Comment:#5?

  7. I love the cast of characters! *woot* to Alexa – I miss Spy Kids πŸ™‚

    Comment #6

  8. Teresa W said:

    Please include me!

    I can’t include you because your comments are not numbered. 😐
    -Kate

  9. I would love to win Spring Breakup – both my daughter & I could read it
    Comment: #7

  10. This one sounds great!

    Comment: #8

  11. Please enter me for this one! It sounds really good. Plus I just read a cover story on Melissa Walker’s blog about these covers (and the OH.MY.GODS. covers!)

    Comment # 9

    I love the OH.MY.GODS. covers too. If I’m not wrong, the winner gets a hardcover copy (naked dude one). Let me see if I can ask her for the paperback. πŸ˜‰ I know the paperback is awesome. I’m totally buying it when it’s out.
    -Kate

  12. I can’t wait to polish off the series with this one. Shia La Beouf would make a great Rand.

    Comment #10

  13. I added a link to my sidebar

    Comment #10 still. =)

  14. I would love to be entered for Spring Break-up. I would be perfect since spring is almost here. Out of all three, my favorite cover gotta be Revenge of the Homecoming Queen.

    Comment #11


    I deleted the other comment since it was a repeat of this, just without the comment #. Don’t worry, your entry has been counted!
    -Kate

  15. Comment #12

    This sounds like a great book and series! It’s nice to hear about a story set in the midwest, especially Illinois! I’m also from Illinois (in case you couldn’t tell). πŸ™‚ Thanks for a chance to win!

  16. That’s pretty cool!

    comment #13

  17. I’d love to be entered. Can international people enter? The explanation paragraph confused me :S

    Comment #14

  18. I’d love to enter, please! I always love reading new books πŸ™‚

    Comment #15

  19. Seems interesting! Great interview πŸ™‚

    Comment #16

  20. Enter me, please!
    Comment # 17
    bball11kt@sbcglobal.net

Leave a Reply

