YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Hi everyone, today we are interviewing the awesome Melissa Walker. Melissa writes the Violet series and has a book coming out this May, Lovestruck Summer. She also co owns I Heart Daily! So between writing and blogging, Melissa managed to find time to do this interview.

1. How did you get the idea of writing books about modeling?
As soon as I started peeking behind the scenes of modeling and fashion as a magazine editor, I knew that I wanted to put a “real girl” in the middle of this crazy world.

2. How long did it take for you to write Violet On The Runway?
About 6 months–I head a deadline!

3. Was it a difficult process getting your book published?
It wasn’t, but only because I had 7 years of magazine writing experience, so I guess if I add in those years of writing, it took me 8 years to get a book published!

4. Did you put any of your real life experiences in your books?
Well… yes! I’ve never walked a runway, but I’ve met enough “fashion people” that some of them did get a bit of airtime in the book. I’ll never name names though!

5. How can you relate to your main character, Violet?
She and I have a lot of the same likes and dislikes, and I play the Song Game she plays (where whatever song comes on the radio is what the guy she likes thinks about her) ALL THE TIME. Still. I also relate to her reactions to the hilarious/gorgeous/intimidating world of fashion.

6. What message do you want your Violet series to portray to readers?
Hmm… no message, really. I just wanted to show a real girl in this insane world. Sometimes the glamour is overplayed in fashion books, and I wanted to show both the sparkly and the dark sides.

7. What did you research while writing your Violet books?
I knew a lot from my time in magazines, so I just used those experiences as my research. And I tried to go to fashion week shows when I could, for inspiration.

8. Which do you do when you have a writer’s block?
I watch Oprah. She’s a cure-all.

9. If the Violet books were to become a movie, who’d you like to play the main characters?
I have no clue! I’d probably want an unknown model to play Violet. Someone who can act, hopefully, but also who has that fresh face.

10. What do you think of teenage girls buying designer brands these days?
I think saving for one or two things you really LOVE and will wear/use for decades is a beautiful thing. But buying a closet full of labels? Boring.

Thanks for sharing with us Melissa!

If you want to win a signed copy of Violet On The Runway by Melissa Walker, then comment on this post. I’ll use a random number generator to draw the winner. When commenting, make sure you state what your number is. For example:

I would love to win Violet On The Runway!
Comment: #1

And so the next person who posts will be number 2.

Stay tuned for the next two parts of the interview! Full details on the contest can be found here. Sorry, only US residents allowed to enter for this book. International people can enter Oh. My. Gods. Edit: anyone in the world can enter to win Violet On The Runway! 🙂

Click here to read Stephanie Hale’s interview and win Spring Breakup!

Comments on: "Interview with Melissa Walker part 1" (20)

  1. Thanks for having me!!

  2. I would love to win Violet On The Runway!
    Comment: #1

    Hope that works =)

  3. Count me in! Haha and I like how she watches Oprah when she has writer’s block!

    Comment #2

  4. Count me in! Haha Oprah really is a cure-all, she has the most interesting topics on her show!

    Comment #3

  5. Lol. Oprah? I watch Ellen. I just love to laugh!
    Comment:#4

    Kate’s note: Your comment number was wrong so I edited it.

  6. I would love to win Violet On The Runway!
    Comment: #5

    I haven’t read any of Melissas books by i first saw them around now in March, so you can say I have just discovered her 🙂

    Kate’s note: Your comment number was wrong so I edited it.

  7. I keep wanting to pick this series up so winning the first volume would be perfect!

    Comment: #6

  8. Teresa W said:

    These would be great!

    Please note that you HAVE to include which comment number you are or you would not be included.
    -Kate

  9. I’d love to read this.

    Comment: #7

  10. Ooh yippie – now this is open internationally too! The premise of Violet on the Runway looks so intriguing!

    Comment #8

  11. Thanks for the interview. Another yay for international entries!

    Comment #9

    Lesley

  12. Books about fashion, what is not to love? Count me in on the giveaway. I would love to read Violet On The Runway.

    Comment #10

  13. I’d love a copy!

    (oh, and I added it to my sidebar at aboutbooksforteens@blogspot.com)

    Comment # 11

  14. She’s right labels are boring!

    comment# 12

  15. Great interview! Violet on the Runway looks like such a fun book – I’d love to be entered 🙂

    Comment #13

  16. I’m so happy this is open worldwide!

    Comment: #14

  17. Looks like a great book, please enter me! 🙂

    Comment #15

  18. I would love to win! Thanks!
    Comment #16

  19. Comment #17

    Oprah is a cure-all!

  20. I would love to win this!
    Comment # 18
    bball11kt@sbcglobal.net

Leave a Reply

