YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Best Books of 2010

2009 was a good year for YA but 2010 was even better! I read many fantastic novels this year and it took me a long time to come up with this list (because there were too many good books!).


Best Book of 2010:
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
No doubt Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins is the winner. It has action, a swoon-worthy and a not exactly smooth sailing romance, and it has excellent writing and a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy. Definitely my fave of 2010.
Runnerup: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. Although it was published in 2009, it was reprinted in 2010. 🙂 Jellicoe Road is one of my favorite books of all time.


Best Romance:
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
The writing is one of the best, very readable and filled with vivid imagery. The book was one that took me completely by surprise, it an incredible book with plenty of action and romance. The romance angle was a typical love triangle and yet there’s something entirely unique about it. Loved it!
Runnerup: Linger by Maggie Stiefvater. Maggie Stiefvater has the ability to write swoon-worthy romances and tearful novels although I still preferred Shiver to Linger.

Best Dystopian:
Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
Birthmarked is one dystopian that I hardly come across on blogs. But I have this to say: it is my next favorite dystopian after the Hunger Games trilogy so you can guess how awesome it is. 😉 Definitely one of the highlights this year. Read this, I cannot stress enough.
Runnerup: Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder. This one had me on the edge of my seat!

Best Fantasy:
Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken
This is hands down my favorite fantasy of the year. An epic adventure with the characters falling in love along the way. This book has the best of both worlds.
Runnerup: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey. I’m not sure if you’d consider this fantasy but one thing is for sure: Maori mythologies are not common in YA! This book has a great cast of characters and a jaw-dropping ending. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up the next time you are at the bookstore.

Best Contemporary:
Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian
Runner up: Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala. It was a close call between this and Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala. But it doesn’t really matter because both books are books you absolutely have to read because I love them so much. Both novels are empowering and you should definitely check them out!


Best Laugh-Out-Loud:
The Rise of Renegade X by Chelsea Campbell. Absolutely hilarious and entertaining! I adored this one. I never knew books on super heroes and super villains could be so much fun. More books like this please!
Runner up: The Ghost And The Goth by Stacey Kade was simply delightful. I couldn’t put it down, and it kept me laughing throughout.


Best Forbidden Romance:
Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready. Very well written. Shade is truly an amazing YA debut from Jeri Smith-Ready and I am looking forward to more books by her. I love Smith-Ready’s take on paranormal. Bring on the ghosts!
Runner up: Nevermore by Kelly Creagh. I was very impressed with Creagh’s writing and I loved how a big portion of Nevermore took place in school. Hardly any YA books seem centered around school these days.

Alright so that’s my massive Best Books of 2010 list. I did one last year but I included images in this year’s post. I hope you all enjoyed it and leave your thoughts below. 😀 Happy 2011!

Comments on: "Best Books of 2010" (4)

  1. A great wrap-up list…and a great reminder that I REALLY need to get around to reading Brightly Woven!

  2. Nice best books list! I had to refrain from doing one…I simply couldn’t narrow it down… ^_^ Great choices though….certainly a few to add to my TBR list.

Leave a comment