YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH
Publication Date: June 29th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: After a close encounter with the front end of a school bus, Alona Dare goes from Homecoming Queen to Queen of the Dead. Now she’s stuck as a spirit (DON’T call her a ghost) in the land of the living with no sign of the big, bright light to take her away. To make matters worse, the only person who might be able to help her is Will Killian, a total loser outcast who despises the social elite. He alone can see and hear (turns out he’s been “blessed” with the ability to communicate with the dead), but he wants nothing to do with the former mean girl of Groundsboro High.

Alona has never needed anyone for anything, and now she’s supposed to expose her deepest, darkest secrets to this pseudo-goth boy? Right. She’s not telling anyone what really happened the day she died, not even to save her eternal soul. And Will’s not filling out any volunteer forms to help her cross to the other side. He only has a few more weeks until his graduation, when he can strike out on his own and find a place with less spiritual interference. But he has to survive and stay out of the psych ward until then. Can they get over their mutual distrust—and the weird attraction between them—to work together before Alona vanishes for good and Will is locked up for seeing things that don’t exist?

Review: The Ghost and the Goth is one of the best books told in alternate Point of View. I am disappointed that this book is not getting as much hype as it should be getting because I love, love, love this book! The book alternates between Alona, the ghost and Will, the goth who can see ghosts. I loved Alone’s POV. It was clear that she was a very confident person and cared a lot about her image, yet she was not one of those unbearable narrators. I actually liked reading in her POV. If a narrator is a ‘mean girl’ and can still be likable enough for me to continue reading the book, the writing is definitely impressive. The book started off with this (in Alona’s POV):

Dying should have been the worst moment in my life. I mean, hello, getting run over by a school bus full of band geeks while wearing the regulation gym uniform of red polyester short shorts and a practically see-through white T-shirt? It doesn’t get more tragic than that.

A brilliant combination of witty and delightful writing. You can see why I fell in love with this novel. Kade brings to Alona to life even though she was dead. Although Alona can be pretty mean sometimes, she is never infuriating and I actually felt sympathetic towards her. She has a snarky voice that definitely stands out among most narrators in YA books. That being said, I also enjoyed reading in Will’s POV and he is a refreshing change in the YA lit. Will and Alona forge an unlikely new friendship and I loved seeing how things progressed between them. Their banter were always adorable and hilarious and really true-to-life. I don’t want to spoil the plot for you but I cannot stress enough: This book was so good, I was so involved with the story, I found myself reading till midnight just to finish it!

I enjoyed this wonderful novel and wholeheartedly recommend to readers who wanted an addictive fast-paced read. I cannot wait to read more books in the trilogy. Don’t worry, The Ghost and the Goth is excellent on it’s own.

The Ghost and the Goth has been nominated for a Best Fiction for Young Adults award (BFYA) through the American Library Association (ALA). I am absolutely happy to hear that! Visit Stacey Kade at her website.

Comments on: "The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade" (3)

  1. I. Want. This. Book.

    Seriously!!

    I’ve read only good things about it and the more I read, the more I crave for it. I love that you’re able to love Alona, despite her being a mean girl. I guess, there should be some true quality in her shielded by all her mean-ness.

    Will surely give this one a shot.
    I just hope it will be very soon!

  2. I really want to read this book too…I thought it looked good. Great Review!!!

  3. Oh…great review! I’ve had this one on my radar for a while now. Besides the title/cover art intrigue, the story sounds like a lot of fun. Loved the part you mentioned on how she “brought Alona to life although she’s dead”….now there’s talent! Happy reading….

Leave a Reply

