YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian
Publisher: Push
Publication Date: September 1st 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4.5/5 stars)

Synopsis: Natalie Sterling wants to be in control. She wants her friends to be loyal. She wants her classmates to elect her student council president. She wants to find the right guy, not the usual jerk her school has to offer. She wants a good reputation, because she believes that will lead to good things.
But life is messy, and it’s very hard to be in control of it. Not when there are freshman girls running around in a pack, trying to get senior guys to sleep with them. Not when your friends have secrets they’re no longer comfortable sharing. Not when the boy you once dismissed ends up being the boy you want to sleep with yourself – but only in secret, with nobody ever finding out.

Slut or saint? Winner or loser? Natalie is getting tired of these forced choices – and is now going to find a way to live life in the sometimes messy, sometimes wonderful in-between.

Review: Have you ever read a book that’s so amazing that you want to tell the whole world about? Yup, Not That Kind of Girl is one of those books. The prose was something I instantly liked. It was very compelling and I just savored every word.

This novel was surprisingly very good. The cover is totally misleading; I picked up the book thinking that it would be a chick-lit kind of novel, maybe something light but, wow, this book has depth. Do not be fooled by the cover. Not That Kind of Girl talks about feminism, first love, the ups and downs of friendship, heartbreaks and one girl’s journey to discovering who she truly was.

Natalie knows what she wants in life; she’s smart, confident, strong and resourceful. But when things start changing during senior year, she starts to question some things in life. The other characters were awesome, oh I don’t know where to begin. There’s Autumn, Natalie’s best friend. I liked her but I couldn’t help but feel annoyed by her actions sometimes so yes, she’s flawed but I still loved her in the end.

The male interest, Connor, was lovely. He is the best representation of a popular guy who is not a jerk. I know it has been done many times in YA novels but Connor stood out. His interactions with Natalie were hilarious. Vivian knows how to make conversations between them realistic and yet with a dose of clever insults. I can’t help but recognize myself in Natalie some scenes. Then there’s Spencer, the girl Natalie used to babysit who is now a freshman. In the beginning I grew quickly annoyed by Spencer’s stripper-in-the-making act and immediately classified her as the mean girl. But she started growing on me and by the end of the book, I adored her. Spencer was also an excellent example of a realistically portrayed flawed character.

As for Mrs Bee, it was interesting reading scenes involving her. While she was not my favorite character, she rang true to me with her actions. She was someone who cared a lot for Natalie and her actions was justified. Vivan painted an accurate picture of high school. The cliques; the mean girls, the jocks who are full of raging hormones, the girl who wanted to fit in so badly. I dare say that Not That Kind Of Girl will be loved by almost everyone who reads it. It is one of the best coming-of-age stories I have ever read. What are you waiting for? Read this book!

Comments on: "Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian" (6)

  1. I feel the same way: I want to make everyone read this book! I think it’s because Natalie was ME in high school. I can definitely relate to this book and loved every second of it.

  2. This book sounds really good, kind of like a less depressing “some girls are” I’ll add it to my TBR list.

  3. i’ve heard so much awesomeness about this book & now i really wanna read it. Unfortunately my bookstore doesn’t have it. After reading this (yet another glowing review for this book) i MUST order it & soon!

  4. I loved this book(: its like me x10. I can read it over and over.

Leave a Reply

