YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe
Publisher: Text Publishing
Publication Date: August 30th 2010
Buy it from: Amazon (free shipping worldwide!)
Silver star (3.5/5 stars)
Synopsis: Isn’t it enough having your very own terminal disease, without your mother dying? Or your father dating your Art teacher?

No wonder Sacha Thomas ends up in the lake that Saturday evening…

But the real question is: how does he end up in love with Jewel Valentine?

With the help of quirky teenage prodigies Little Al and True Grisham, Sacha and Jewel have a crazy adventure, with a little lobster emancipation along the way.

But Sacha’s running out of time, and Jewel has secrets of her own.

Girl Saves Boy is a hugely talented debut novel, funny and sad, silly and wise. It’s a story of life, death, love… and garden gnomes.

Review: When I first heard about this book, I was impressed to find out that Bowe was only sixteen years old. Bowe is a sixteen year old Australian writer and Girl Saves Boy is her debut novel. It was published by Text Publishing in Australia & New Zealand, but I think it’ll be making it’s way over to the States soon.

First off, I loved how the book was centered around Jewel and Sacha are both flawed characters (have I mentioned how much I loved characters who are not perfect?) who found each other. I found myself able to relate to both characters to a certain extent. Sacha’s early chapters were truly heartbreaking and so were Jewel’s. However, much to my dismay, there were too many subplots and even at the end, some issues were not entirely resolved. The vague abrupt ending was also very disappointing. If you want a book to have a sad ending, then let it have a sad ending. Vice versa. Don’t leave the readers to imagine the ending for themselves. It’s frustrating! Also, Sacha and Jewel’s romance seemed to escalate very quickly in a week and it was rather unbelievable. I wished the romance had been given more time to be developed. The secondary characters were also quite bland. Sad to say, there was nothing very distinct about each character.

But the best thing about this book would be the writing. The writing is not fluffy, like the pink cover suggests, instead it’s realistic but sometimes a little depressing. However, that does not deter one from enjoying the book. The prose is quite similar to Jandy Nelson’s if you are wondering. There were several fabulous scenes in the novel where Bowe’s writing shone and I particularly enjoyed the one were Sacha and his friend rescued the lobster from the Chinese restaurant.

In the end, I didn’t enjoy Girl Saves Boy as much as I would have liked but it still kept me hooked onto for ages. Sadly it was a number of issues that prevented me from really loving it. At times funny, at times painful, Girl Saves Boy is a story of two teenagers and their journey to self-discovery.

Comments on: "Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe" (1)

  1. Oh, I love Jandy Nelson’s writing. I’ll have to check out this book- I hadn’t heard anything about it before this review. That’s sad about the ending… I’m like you. I like to know as much as I possibly can about where the characters are at the end. Good review!

Leave a Reply

