YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: July 20th 2010
Source: ARC, friend
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
No rating yet but I have a feeling it will be a Gold Star.

Synopsis: In Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past…and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack. And Isabel, who already lost her brother to the wolves…and is nonetheless drawn to Cole. At turns harrowing and euphoric, Linger is a spellbinding love story that explores both sides of love–the light and the dark, the warm and the cold–in a way you will never forget.

Review: A YA author (I forgot who, sorry) once said that it is harder to write sequels because sequels come with expectations.

That is indeed true. Last year, Shiver captivated me and left me wanting Linger so badly. Thanks to the Book Gods, I managed to get my hands on Linger, early. I shall inform you in advance that I am writing this review having read until page 236 out of 368. My reason for doing this is because I do not want to torture myself with the long wait for Forever hence I am slowly take my time to finish this book. But I think we can safely judge a book after reading more than 3/4 of it right? ๐Ÿ™‚ My review will not be spoilerish if you’ve read Shiver. There was no doubt I started this book with a high bar, and now that I’ve read a little over 230 pages, I felt that Stiefvater delivered everything I was expecting.

There are several reasons why I adore Stiefvater’s Mercy Falls series. Firstly, her descriptions of the characters were so they practically came to life in front of me, it was almost as if I was in Minnesota, smelling the musty pine and wolf smell and swooning over Sam Roth. Secondly, Stiefvater’s writing is one of the best out there. It’s evocative, though seemingly effortless, I can tell that every sentence was strategically placed. It leaves us little clues which will slowly come together. It also heightens the ordinary, making something as common as celebrating a birthday, feel special. I do have to warn you that you might fall head-over-heels for Sam, if you haven’t already from the first book.

The third reason is Sam and Grace. Their interactions are so sweet and beautiful and their love is heartachingly real. Sam is sensitive and a refreshing change to those arrogant cocky guys in YA Literature of late. My only teeny tiny complaint was that, at one point, Grace was in danger of becoming one of those frail, timid heroines but luckily Stiefvater managed to get her back together again be the Grace I knew once again.

Fourth, the ‘mystery’ elements. There is no neon sign pointing and saying “LOOK! Here’s a mystery for you to solve!” It’s incorporated into the book nicely and not once appearing out of place. I am dying in suspense not knowing whether my suspicions are true. If it is, I suspect that there will be some sobs at the end of Linger.

To sum up Linger, if you enjoyed Shiver, there’s a good chance you’ll enjoy Linger as well, but be cautioned that there will be two additional Point Of Views. Isabel and Cole’s perspectives are complete opposites of Grace and Sam’s as they both have that “wild” and “bold” side which is different from the serious attitudes of the latter. At this point, I am still unsure of my feelings for Cole after the stunt he pulled off in the bathroom. We shall see my verdict once I finish the entire book.

If you crave a romance that will tug at your heartstrings and may possibly cause tears, this is for you. And those who love beautiful writing will greedily devour every carefully chosen word, so be assured that lovely descriptions abound.

If you have not read Stiefvater’s Mercy Falls series, do not be fooled into thinking that it is ‘just another sappy werewolf story’ because it’s not. It’s more than that. It’s something extraordinary. More, please!

Here’s a teaser quote (nothing spoilerish):
“What are you wishing for?” Grace interrupted.
Want to know what Sam is wishing for? Follow @YARoundup on Twitter and once they hit 400 followers, they’ll post the full teaser! Yes, I am tweeting for @YARoundup.

Quotes copyright to Scholastic and Maggie Stiefvater. Oh and 58 days to go till Linger releases!

Comments on: "Linger by Maggie Stiefvater" (13)

  1. Great review, Kate! I’ve heard from a few friends/reviewers that this is a good sequel, and is even better than Shiver. I’m looking forward to it, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. I need to read my Shiver and am still wanting Linger because of the reviews like yours. I have an award for you Kate over at my place: http://jacaburintexas.blogspot.com/2010/05/new-award-x3.html

  3. Excellent review! Hope you enjoy the end of the book. I am looking forward to reading Linger. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I loved, loved, loved Shiver and canot wait for Linger. You are so lucky to have an advanced copy. Thanks for the review, I am now chomping at the bit for it :0)

  5. I can NOT wait for this book! Shiver was my first experience reading about werewolves (other than Twilight) and it was amazing! I soaked it all up!

    Great review! Love that you are savoring the last parts. I can’t seem to have that kind of self control. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just gobble it all up, then read it again and again.

  6. Oh I can not wait for this book and you’re right her writing is so beautiful and atmospheric. I read Shiver sitting outside in hot, humid weather and I felt cold!

  7. You are SO lucky to have an advanced copy of Linger!
    I pre-ordered my copy from Amazon and hopefully it will come tomorrow or the next day …
    I love, love, loved Shiver but hated the ending — I think it needed some sort of an epilogue to convince all us heartbroken readers that it really was a happy ending. Which is why I’m so anxious to read Linger! Thanks for writing your review, now I’m even more anxious. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. To me, its not fair that I have to wait till July 20th for this book to come out when apparently you have already read it, in May! But anyways, the date is almost here, so I will wait. On a different note, your review is beautiful and makes me more eager for it to come out!

  9. Meredith said:

    How much “content” is in Linger? I’ve heard some comments made and I don’t want to read it unless I’m sure it’s appropriate.

  10. Dre's Mom said:

    Let me start by saying that, I am the one who got my daughter hooked on Shiver! (haha)
    I am a 38 yr old mom of two and love to read stories like Shiver. I was so disappointed when it was over. I kept saying to myself, this can’t be it… seriously?? What happens now?? Well. THANK YOU MAGGIE for Linger! I am going to get it today!!! I know what I’ll be doing this weekend! SO excited! Enjoy Shiver for those who haven’t read it yet… and for those about to read Linger, ENJOY! I know I will!

  11. I really enjoyed Linger and I liked the addition of Cole. He added drama and character growth to the story.

  12. I so can’t wait to read this! Do you think a person can actually die from anticipation?

Leave a Reply

