YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Top 6 YA Couples of 2009 (this post contains lots of spoilers!)

6th: Willow and Guy from Willow by Julia Hoban
Guy is such a sweet guy, he tries to help Willow, despite her not wanting his help, it’s truly touching. But eventually, Willow falls for Guy and the rest was history.

5th: Katniss and Peeta from Catching Fire/Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
I was Team Gale until I read Catching Fire. Now I am 98% Team Peeta and 2% Team Gale. Peeta is a perfect guy, I hope they cast someone good-looking as Peeta!

4th: Viola and Jinn from As You Wish by Jackson Pearce
I nearly teared up at the end! Their time spent together was fragile and their love was realistic.

3rd: Nora and Patch from Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
What can I say? I kinda have a thing for Patch. Sue me. 😛

2nd: Lena and Ethan from Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
They are both such wonderful characters, each unique in their own way, yet when together, they are a match made in heaven. Oh and if you haven’t already, I suggest you go and buy Beautiful Creatures right now. Yes, right now! It’s over 500 pages but it’s 500 pages of romance and intrigue!

1st: Grace and Sam from Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
I freaking cried, is that enough to explain how amazing their love was?

Grace and Sam’s first kiss:

I kissed her. Just the barest brush of my lips against hers, nothing animal. Even in that moment, I deconstructed the kiss: her possible reactions to, her possible interpretations of, the way it made a shudder tighten my skin, the seconds between when I touched her lips and when she opened her eyes.

Grace smiled at me. Her words were taunting, but her voice was gentle. “Is that all you’ve got?” I touched my lips to hers again, and this time, it was a very different sort of kiss. it was six years’ worth of kissing, her lips coming to life under mine, tasting of orange and desire. Her fingers ran through my sideburns and into my hair before linking around my neck, alive and cool on my warm skin. (pg 87)

Top 6 Not Exactly Couple But Should Be Together of 2009

6th: Ash and Sidhean from Ash by Malinda Lo
I know Ash is lesbian but I can’t help but root for the both of them to be together.

5th: Mae and Nick from The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
I am unsure whether Mae and Nick should be together or Mae and Alan. *sigh*

4th: Ai Ling and Chen Yong from Silver Phoenix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia by Cindy Pon
I was mad at the ending, I sat that staring at the last page going “Nooooo, why?!”. You have to read the book to find out what I’m talking about.

3rd: Jonah and Beatrice from How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford
They share something more than love but I wished that they were actually a couple. This is an amazing book, you should definitely check it out.

2nd: Nikki and Christopher from Being Nikki/Airhead by Meg Cabot
Don’t want to spoil the series for you but I think they are perfect for each other.

1st: Deirdre and James from Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception by Maggie Stiefvater
You can tell that James cares for Deirdre and his willing to risk anything for her, to keep her safe.

Here’s a scene where James comforts her, but sadly, they don’t end up together.

He looked so normal and safe, standing there with his summer-brown arms and his Sarcasm: Just Another Service I Offer T-shirt. He looked like ever summer I’d ever known and reminded me of everything I couldn’t seem to have right now. I fought valiantly with a strange rush of emotions for about one-third of a second, and then I burst into tears.

“Hey, hey!” James sat down with me on the couch and let me cry into his sarcasm T-shirt. He didn’t ask any questions or try to get me to talk, because that’s how awesome a friend he is. Realizing that just made me cry more. And then I thought of how pathetic this whole crying jag was, which made me cry even more.

James bundled me closer as I started to shiver, his arms wrapped tightly around me like a living sweater. (pg 122 and 123)

Credit to Alexa from Not Enough Bookshelves for the idea.

Comments on: "Top 6 YA Couples & Top 6 Almost YA Couples of 2009" (16)

  1. Great list! I LOVE this kind of lists! 🙂

  2. Loved Lena and Ethan! Great kissing scenes in Beautiful Creatures. And I love Peeta and Katniss too and am also on Team Peeta!

  3. Ohh that first kiss… *swoon*

    YAY for Ethan and Lena, though! go BC

  4. I’m not a fan of Ash and Sidhean–when it came down to him or Kaisa, I was Kaisa all the way. Ash had much more chemistry with her than Sidhean.

  5. Okay, I’m sold on several of these books. I’ll get cracking!

  6. I have a thing for Patch as well =D I think I’m old enough to handle a little bad boy like him LOL.

    Oh, I shouldn’t have read about Mae and Nick(I have TDL in my TBR pile).

  7. But but but what about Gabriel Luna?? 😛

  8. Aye knew Kattniss would be there 🙂 and yes I am too all Team Peeta

  9. Oh, Katniss and Peeta, woot! But, gasp, you forgot:

    ROSE AND DIMITRI! They’re my number one YA couple.

    Fun post–thanks! 🙂

  10. Christine said:

    Niice.. but you forgot JACE and CLARY from The mortal Instruments series!!

    They are awesome! (By themselves also, but ESPECIALLY together!)

  11. Hi houndrat and Christine, I have yet to read Vampire Academy and The Mortal Instruments series. You probably want to jump at me right now. Yikes! I’m waiting for all the books in the VA series to be out in box sets. =P And Mortal Instruments? I might buy the boxed set soon.

    Thanks for the comments everyone! You make my day!

    • Im so happy Ethan and Lena made it! such a great story! and yes you NEED to read The Vampire academy novels! I nearly cried in the 3rd ! its so good!

  12. How about Ever and Damen Auguste
    or Jace and Clary

  13. Nikki and Christopher… I want to say Em and Christopher! Mind you, I have yet to read the third book…

  14. ck.twilighter (Chasity) said:

    I agree….. I love love love Nora and sam!!=)

  15. I loooove SHIVER!! I totally agree that they’re the cutest couple ever!

Leave a comment