YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Darklight by Lesley Livingston
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: December 22nd 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4.5/5 stars)

Synopsis: Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom…or part them forever.

The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black.

Review: If you read Wondrous Strange and loved it, do not hesitate to run out and buy Darklight now! I have read so many books over the past year on the Faerie genre and I can safely say, Livingston writes the most descriptive stories. She is an expert in writing detailed scenes and almost everything, besides the imagery, was so well described.

With so many faerie books out there, I wasn’t expecting much from the plot, however, Livingston proved me wrong and made Darklight was very unpredictable and it blew my mind! Livingston is an excellent storyteller, her writing flows smoothly and jumps right off the page, complete with vivid, realistic characters. She did a spectacular job quickly recapping the events in the previous novel and did not dwell too long on them. In this sequel, Livingston brings back the old characters and introduces many several ones. One character who I particularly loved this time round would be Fennrys, one of the Janus Guards. He is a character who is unexpectedly swoonworthy. Kelley and Sonny’s relationship is sweet, although the beginning had a rocky start, it was still satisfying.

The fight scenes had plenty of nail-biting action and there were fantastically written. I have a slight problem, though. There were times when there was a lot of things happening that it was almost too much to keep track of but other than that, the novel was amazing.

There are a few unanswered questions but there is a third book to this series so those questions will probably be answered then. In the mean time, I would suggest you reading this series if you haven’t already. Fans of Holly Black, Frewin Jones, R.J. Anderson, Maggie Stiefvater and Melissa Marr should definitely give this series a try. You will fall in love with the characters again in this fascinating sequel.

Advertisements

Comments on: "Darklight by Lesley Livingston" (1)

  1. Sounds good, I may read this for the YA challenge. I like the faerie stories!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: