YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Fallen by Lauren Kate
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 8th 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Silver star (3/5 stars)

Synopsis: There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Review: Fallen is difficult to describe. The first half of the book had a lot of building up, and from the trailer, it basically summed up the first half of the book. Can you say SPOILER? I shall quote the synopsis ‘a page turning thriller’. I was dismayed that only the last 60 pages had me on my edge of the seat. I love how the atmosphere was well described and there was the slow building up but I reckon Fallen needs more action.

Luce the main character seemed to float in and out of scenes but never having actually participate fully. I did not quite like her as a character, because she was boring and I simply could not connect with her. I really prefer characters with attitude and know how to ‘take charge’.

Daniel is dark, edgy, and makes it clear that they should both stay away from each other. Daniel and Luce’s relationship was initially awkward, and undoubtedly similar to the behavior of a certain vampire. Reading Fallen left me equally confused as when I first read Twilight. One moment Daniel is nice and aloof the next. The scenes are not well connected, I even reached a point where I wondered, “Did I miss out a scene? Why didn’t Luce react to Daniel’s weird behavior?”. Kate does mention Daniel’s weird behavior occasionally but it felt disjointed. Daniel was likable when he was not being a jerk, but I hated how his character had a 180 degrees change, towards the end. I feel like I am getting tired of supernatural books with main characters falling for dark, dangerous, jerks. But when Daniel and Luce finally got together, their love was passionate and evident. From the start Luce found herself fantasizing about her and Daniel. What the heck? It’s not the guy being the creepy one now. I found myself a little creeped out by Luce’s thoughts. She also did some things which I consider stalkerish.

Enter Cam, the other guy who likes Luce, while he treats Luce very well and is handsome, Luce still finds herself attracted to Daniel. Here comes the weird part. The characterization for the other characters such as Penn, Arriane, Molly, and Gabbe were superb. They were different in their own ways and were engaging characters unlike Luce who was flat.

The redeeming qualities of this book was the vivid imagery and the concept of fallen angels which was actually quite well done. While Kate’s writing was good, the main characters, mostly Luce, ruined it. Main characters who sit around waiting for something to happen to them are nothing but b-o-r-i-n-g.

I won’t compare this book to Hush Hush because Hush Hush had me addicted right from the start. Fallen, on the other hand, was much slower paced and several inconsistencies. There was a slight twist, but other than that, nothing too different from what readers already know.

Overall, it was not horrible, just ok. There was an obvious attempt to show that there will be a sequel, with it’s cliffhanger ending. If you are considering buying Fallen, I would suggest borrowing it from the library unless you do not mind the same ole’ undeniable attraction and the unfortunate and distracting similarities to other YA paranormal books.

Comments on: "Fallen by Lauren Kate" (12)

  1. Thanks for pointing me to the review! I almost bought it today and I’m glad that I didn’t. I’ll probably still check it out, but I don’t think I’ll be spending my money on it.

  2. nice share you have here, keep up the good work !

  3. lakeithia williams said:

    i was thinking about buying this book….i love the way it sound so romantic n dark….so im getting it…fallen i love title

  4. The concept has a lot of potential, but it wasn’t well executed.

  5. i bought fallen just a week or 2 ago and i am dreading to finish it because its so amazing.. im sure all the people who like forbidden love and romance will love fallen.. its brilliant xx

  6. marinegirl said:

    thanks for the review! definitly going to get it! sounds amazing!

  7. I couldn’t agree more with your review. I’m only 150 pages away from the end, but it isn’t catchy! It’s just… dull. 🙂

  8. I think your extremely correct Hush Hush had me addicted to it too… I just was so into the book couldn’t keep that book down for a second but Fallen was more in a slow track… I did feel that it was just hyped… but it had its own good points too… it was kind of interesting too… but HUSH HUSH is hush hush.. I can re-read that again and again… and by the way i really like your review…
    xoxo
    cuckoobird

  9. Hey yall!
    My names Fedessa and i looooove readin! so when my cousin told me bout this book, it sounded good. But now that Ive read yall lots reviews I aint so sure anymore. So if any yall can help me decide to but this book or not, please contact me on my email. sms5bubbles@att.net. Also if yall have ANY awsome supernatural/paranormal books yall want me to read, yuo put that in the email too.
    Ok, thanks for takin the time to listen to my message.
    love yall forever,
    Fedessa

  10. I read that book 🙂 its a pretty good book XD

  11. I agree with the fact that you find the beginning of the book to be dull and slow-paced, but I couldn’t disagree more with your summary of Luce. Though my opinion might be a bit biased, as I’ve read the second book as well. It’s well written and the ideas of fallen angels are certainly something you don’t hear about every day. I do think that Daniel’s personality in the first book was a bit bipolar, and there are similarities to Twilight, aren’t there always similarities in “forbidden love” type books? I found that Luce’s character in general goes into more depth and she does more right from the start of the second book. I’d suggest reading the entire series, it really is amazing.

Leave a comment