YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: January 5th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (5/5 stars)

Synopsis: Climbing to the top of the social ladder is hard–falling from it is even harder. Regina Afton used to be a member of the Fearsome Fivesome, an all-girl clique both feared and revered by the students at Hallowell High… until vicious rumors about her and her best friend’s boyfriend start going around.

Now Regina’s been “frozen out” and her ex-best friends are out for revenge. If Regina was guilty, it would be one thing, but the rumors are far from the terrifying truth and the bullying is getting more intense by the day. She takes solace in the company of Michael Hayden, a misfit with a tragic past who she herself used to bully. Friendship doesn’t come easily for these onetime enemies, and as Regina works hard to make amends for her past, she realizes Michael could be more than just a friend… if threats from the Fearsome Foursome don’t break them both first.

Tensions grow and the abuse worsens as the final days of senior year march toward an explosive conclusion in this dark new tale from the author of Cracked Up To Be.

Review: To read without reflecting is like eating without digesting. — Edmund Burke

This quote suits Some Girls Are perfectly. Some Girls Are is a book makes ponder about everything, from the slightest movement to the character’s emotions. While reading the horrific actions of the Fearsome Five, I was thinking “Holy Crap!” and I felt truly upset when our dear protagonist was outcasted. Summers really captured Regina’s emotions so incredibly well. The entire book was intense, gripping and thought-provoking. I could picture every scene so clearly in my mind. By page 10, the characters had firmly wedged themselves in my brain and I could not stop reading. I missed my subway stop because of this book. It has never happened. Never. As we all know, Some Girls Are is a book that the whole blogosphere is buzzing about. Practically every blog has at least one mention of it. Now that I finally read it, I have this to say: Some Girls Are, you lived up to the hype.

Summers is not afraid to unleash the terrible doings of the mean girls. Nothing is sugarcoated. Anna and Kara, oh my god, they are so twisted and need some serious help. I cannot read the pages of their torment without my mouth dropping open. Even though Regina experiences hardships like alienation and bullying, readers may feel unsympathetic towards her as her past behaviour towards Liz and Michael was very hurtful. Even the people she use to bully found it hard to accept her. There are also some scenes where Regina seems to have thoughts like her old self, it makes readers wonder, has she really learnt her lesson? It may be confusing but I thought that is realistic. A person cannot totally change so quickly.

A character I really liked was Michael, who has this “I don’t care about what you think” attitude which makes me like him so badly. Nothing better than emo, hot guys… I tried, however, to prolong finishing SGA because I did not want it to end. The end = no more Michael! 😦

I don’t want to reveal anything else about the story because I want you to read and discover it for yourself. But seriously, this book will hold your attention from the very first page, till the last sentence. Once you start reading, you can’t get it out of your head.

I admit, I was a teeny wee bit disappointed with the ending. SPOILER!! I expected the mean girls to be punished. But nope. Where was comeuppance I was expecting? Maybe that’s the way Summers does it. A bittersweet ending.

SPOILER ENDS

I’m not sure how I feel about this but it does not affect my overall opinion of the book that much.

For those of you who has never picked up any of Courtney Summer’s book, here’s a little teaser for you.

I square my shoulders and march across the parking lot, my jaw clenched and my eyes narrowed. I try not to let the heat touch me or flinch at the blast of cold air on my skin when I step through the school doors.

I’m ushered in by whispers and stares. Half the student body relishes it; they’ve waited a long time to show me just how much they hate me. The other half doesn’t know what to make of it after spending four years fearfully revering me.

Page 21 of Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

Usually I don’t give teasers but I hope this makes you curious enough to pick you Some Girls Are the next time you are at the bookstore or library!

I am looking forward to see what other books Summers will write in future. If you were debating whether or not you should read this book, I hope this review just made up your mind for you. Stop contemplating! Run out and buy your copy now! (It wouldn’t hurt to buy from an Indie or B&N or Borders, anything better than Amazon!) Oh how I loved this book!

Comments on: "Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers" (2)

  1. This one is next on my shelf. Can’t wait!

  2. Yep! Fully deserves the Gold Star!

    Oh PS – Can I be on your cool bloggers list? 🙂

Leave a comment