YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Archive for February 20, 2011

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 12th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4.5/5 stars)

Synopsis: A 2011 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Vera’s spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie Kahn. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her. Even after he ruined everything.

So when Charlie dies in dark circumstances, Vera knows a lot more than anyone—the kids at school, his family, even the police. But will she emerge to clear his name? Does she even want to?

Edgy and gripping, Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an unforgettable novel: smart, funny, dramatic, and always surprising.

Review: Please Ignore Vera Dietz is the type of book that demands your attention and needs to be read by everyone. It has a wonderful, imperfect narrator, a dead best friend, and incredibly striking prose. In short, I loved it. Please Ignore Vera Dietz is one darn good book. No wonder it’s a 2011 Michael L. Printz Honor Book.

The prose is compelling and goes hand in hand with the addictive plot. The mystery behind Charlie’s death had me frantically flipping pages; I was so anxious to find out what happened to him. But as the story unfolded, I slowly savored the pages and just went with the flow. I loved how the book had some interesting things like flow charts! That probably sounds boring to you but trust me, they are fun to read! King did an excellent job with the parent figure in this novel. Vera’s single father was present throughout the novel and I thought this novel was a great example of how the parent figure could be developed in a novel. Mr Dietz is definitely one of my favorite parents among all the YA novels I’ve read.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an engrossing, fast-paced, well-written novel that I recommend to all teens. But of course, I’m sure adults will enjoy it just as much. The ending will leave any reader satisfied. Pick up this fantastic book today!

