YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

One Night That Changes Everything by Lauren Barnholdt
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: July 6th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Silver star (3.5/5 stars)
Synopsis: Eliza is in a full-blown panic. Her notebook has been stolen—the one that lists everything she wants but is afraid to go after. And the absolute worst person in the world has it: her ex-boyfriend, Cooper.

Like it’s not enough Cooper was lying to Eliza for their entire relationship, now he and his friends are blackmailing her. They’re giving her just one night to complete the most humiliating tasks on her list or they’ll post her secrets online—including the ones that aren’t just about her.

Eliza’s sure of only one thing: she isn’t going down without a fight. Cooper may have what’s left of her dignity, but she’s not the only one with something to hide …

Review: If you are looking for a milder version of Nick and Norah’s Playlist (i.e. minus the f bombs) One Night That Changes Everything is the one for you. I loved following Eliza around the town as she ran around trying to complete the dares with her ex-boyfriend mysteriously appearing when she needed help.

Being a short read, I finished One Night That Changes Everything very quickly but I went back to reread some of my favorite scenes. This is the type of book that makes you feel ‘fearless’ after reading it. It makes me want to walk into a coffee shop, grab the mike and start doing karaoke without a moment of hesitation. One Night That Changes Everything grabbed me from the very first page. Readers will be eager to see the ex-couple reunite. Admit it. We all knew they’ll eventually get together but still, seeing them finally come to their senses was an utter delight. Although I loved the book, I had some problems with it as well. Eliza’s friends were not good friends. They ditched her when she needed them the most which I found that highly unbelievable and unrealistic. I don’t want to spoil anything but I did not like Eliza’s friends and ironically enough, I was fond of Cooper.

Overall, I genuinely enjoyed this novel although the ending was predictable and some secondary characters were unrealistic and not fully fleshed-out. I’m sorry this reviews is super short and not my usual length but I can’t say more without giving away the plot and I’m writing this at midnight. 😛

Comments on: "One Night That Changes Everything by Lauren Barnholdt" (1)

  1. I LOVED THIS BOOK! I KEEP ON READING THE LAST PAGE WHEN COOPER TELLS ELIZA HE IS SORRY AND THEY KISS, IT IS AMAZING!
    LOVEE ITT

Leave a Reply

