YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The Demon’s Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Publication Date: May 27th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Bronze star (2/5 stars)

Synopsis: Mae Crawford’s always thought of herself as in control, but in the last few weeks her life has changed. Her younger brother, Jamie, suddenly has magical powers, and she’s even more unsettled when she realizes that Gerald, the new leader of the Obsidian Circle, is trying to persuade Jamie to join the magicians. Even worse? Jamie hasn’t told Mae a thing about any of it. Mae turns to brothers Nick and Alan to help her rescue Jamie, but they are in danger from Gerald themselves because he wants to steal Nick’s powers. Will Mae be able to find a way to save everyone she cares about from the power-hungry magician’s carefully laid trap?

Review: Last year when I read The Demon’s Lexicon, I recommended it to everyone. After a year of anxious waiting, the sequel, The Demon’s Covenant was released. I jumped, I danced, I shrieked when I got my hands on the book. Oh, I wish I could say I enjoyed the novel but I didn’t.

Let’s start with the good things. The dialogue! This book is packed with hilarious, by hilarious I mean laugh-out-loud funny dialogue. I felt as though I was in the story together with the characters and experiencing everything. Brennan is a master at excellent characterizations and writing and these were no doubt displayed in Demon’s Covenant. The writing was as smooth as silk and flowed seamlessly.

However, it was the little things that made me dislike the book. In particular, Mae. Mae was so fickle minded and I thing that was the most infuriating thing about the book. To me, throughout the entire novel Mae acted like this:

“Ooh Alan is so cute! But I think Seb is even cuter!!”

*swoon*

“No wait, Nick looks so hot today. I can’t resist him! Nick, let’s makeout!”

If the character is going to be so choosy over which guy she likes, it will make me doubt if she really loves him or it’s just infatuation. I’m sorry but lust does not equal love. One year ago I closed one eye when I read about unhealthy romantic relationships but now, it disturbs me that a girl would let a guy bite them. Now the trend in paranormal is: If a guy is horrible to you, fall in love with him. Umm, what? Feel free to chime in the comments (or alternatively email me kate.readthisbook at gmail) what you thought about Nick and Mae’s behavior throughout the book.

Some parts of the book were extremely draggy they were extremely tedious to read about. I was waiting for the action but it was always anti-climatic. I admit, there were times I felt like saying “just hurry up and get to the action!” in exasperation. Unlike TDL, TDC was a surprisingly forgettable novel. I am still going to read the third book though, I love the characters too much (when they are not falling head over heels for the wrong guy).

This is not a bad book. There’s a reason why there are so many people love it. There are book I love and others don’t. Vice versa. Give this book a try if you enjoyed The Demon’s Lexicon and decide for yourself. Overall, witty, brilliant dialogue and amazing worldbuilding but an annoying main character can bring down the book’s rating by long shot. Then again, maybe it’s just me.

Comments on: "The Demon’s Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan" (4)

  1. I haven’t read this series, but it really frustrates me as well when the main character is so undecided about the love interests (especially if there is a case of stringing-them-along, which *really* annoys me). Definitely agree that the ‘if a guy is horrible to you, fall in love with him’ trend is worrisome!

  2. I haven’t read this one yet but I’ve been hearing great things about it. I’m glad you were honest in your review though. Your review has actually made me even more anxious to read it!

Leave a Reply

