YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin

Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication Date: September 14th 2010
Bronze star (2/5 stars)

Synopsis: Avery Hood is reeling from the loss of her parents–and the fact that she can’t remember what happened to them even though she was there.

She’s struggling to adjust to life without them, and to living with her grandmother, when she meets Ben, who isn’t like any guy she’s ever met before.

It turns out there’s a reason why, and Ben’s secret may hold the key to Avery finding out what happened to her parents…

But what if that secret changes everything she knows about–and feels for–Ben?

Review: I was first interested about this book when I heard that a popular YA author wrote it. I’ll give you a hint, her initials start with E.S. However, like her contemporary novels, there were a lot of hyphens used in this book. Due to the excessive use of hyphens, the writing became repetitive. I found it extremely unnecessary to include hyphens every now and then? Other than that, I was fine with Devlin’s writing. Sadly, the spark just wasn’t there for me with this book. Avery came off as a stiff, one-dimensional person. The writing made her appear whiny and, honestly, I did not care who murdered her parents because the whole book seemed like it was going nowhere.

Avery’s parents were murdered, she tries to get on with life, she meets a new guy, but wait, he has a secret! I don’t mind the setting but the whole aspect of meeting a new guy who is mysterious and may harbor a huge secret is very very cliche. Oh and they are connected. With no proper explanation even at the end of the book. I understand that Ben is the bad boy in this novel but there was no explanation for Avery’s instant attraction with him. I don’t want to give too much of the plot away but the romance was poorly handled. I didn’t understand how Avery’s feelings could change so quickly.

This story had so much potential but I didn’t feel that it quite reached it. In the beginning, Avery was determined to find out who murdered her parents, yet she did not do much to find out. In the end, she just snapped her fingers and said “… is the murderer! Arrest him!” I’d be lying if I said I was convinced that that person was the murderer.

It may seem like this book was a total disappointment but it’s redeeming quality was Avery’s relationship with her grandmother. Their interactions were nicely described in the book and well elaborated. Overall, my expectations for Low Red Moon weren’t reached and several times I was tempted to put down the book and never pick it up again. I don’t know why several reviews kept comparing Low Red Moon to Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver. Yes both books are about werewolves and there’s romance but that’s pretty much where the similarities end.

Comments on: "Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin" (1)

  1. I really think that this book tried to imitate more of a “Raised by Wolves” sort of vibe, trust me they sound identical in many ways.

Leave a Reply

