YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Meet Heather!

Hey guys, there’s going to be a slight change in schedule. The guest blog will be posted on Thursday instead of today and instead Heather will be on the blog today!

Now, please give Heather a warm welcome!


Hi Heather, nice to have you today! Please tell us about yourself.

Have you ever attended any singing or acting or dancing lessons as a child?
I was desperately overscheduled as a kid. Started out with ballet, and moved into acting a little bit later. But the only thing I’ve really kept up with is my clarinet lessons, since third grade.

Would you call yourself a drama queen?
Drama definitely seems to know where it can find me! It’s not like I try to be a drama queen or anything. It’s just that I get passionate about things. And then they explode.

Have you ever considered being an actress as a career?
I’ve entertained fantasies about it, but I don’t think I could really go for it. There’s so much competition that you need to be a hundred percent serious, and lucky too. But maybe I could teach drama someday…

If you could play the lead role in one musical, what would it be?
When I saw a touring production of Wicked last year, I loved how it took the mean-girl thing and the rigamarole about popularity and turned it into something positive about love and loyalty and friendship. And speaking as a reforming mean girl, I’d have to play Glinda!

What is your favorite musical, and why?
I think that Rent will always have a special place in my heart because, when it came to Chicago a couple of years ago, I was still in an awkward place about being gay, and coming out to my parents. And my parents said I couldn’t go, but I went to see it anyway, and that night I felt a lot braver than I’d ever felt. I felt like I was going to be okay.

What was your reaction when you discovered that Cassie went cross-countrying on a bicycle?
I was glad that she was going to be out of my hair, because it was going to be really awkward talking to her again, and I didn’t know if she was even going to speak to me. But I was impressed, too. When I knew her in middle school she always seemed like somebody who had things together, somebody who could do something huge if she put her mind to it.

If you were to go on a road trip (not a bike trip) to anywhere in America, where would it be?
Savannah, Georgia. It’s so sultry and historical, it’s like something out of a romance novel. It’s the kind of place where you’d just want to go walking all night reading poetry out loud.

What are three things you’d bring along with you on the road trip?
A really epic novel on audiobook that me and all my traveling companions could agree on. Some of those itty bitty personal battery-operated fans. And bubbles, because it’s not a road trip unless you can hang out the window blowing bubbles.

Wow, time flies! Any thing you would like to add before we go?
Auditions for Our Post-Apocalyptic Town start next week! We have a bunch of zombies already, but if you want to be a mutant we can find a place for you!

Umm, no thanks Heather, I get stage fright! But if I can get front row tickets to your show it’d be great!

Leave a Reply

