YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The Unwritten Rule

The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: April 6th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Silver star (3.25/5 stars)
Synopsis: Everyone knows the unwritten rule: You don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend.

Sarah has had a crush on Ryan for years. He’s easy to talk to, supersmart, and totally gets her. Lately it even seems like he’s paying extra attention to her. Everything would be perfect except for two things: Ryan is Brianna’s boyfriend, and Brianna is Sarah’s best friend.

Sarah forces herself to avoid Ryan and tries to convince herself not to like him. She feels so guilty for wanting him, and the last thing she wants is to hurt her best friend. But when she’s thrown together with Ryan one night, something happens. It’s wonderful…and awful.

Sarah is torn apart by guilt, but what she feels is nothing short of addiction, and she can’t stop herself from wanting more…

Review: I have a question, is The Unwritten Rule Scott’s 100th novel? I’m totally kidding but Scott is one talented lady! The Unwritten Rule is in fact her seventh novel and with an upcoming novel out September this year, titled Grace. I haven’t read some of Scott’s earlier works, Bloom and Perfect You but I have read everything else. To be honest, I expected this novel to blow my mind. It didn’t, but I liked it more than Something Like Fate which has a similar plot.

Scott has a very distinct writing style, and I love it. Here’s the first page of the book, isn’t her writing stark and authentic?

I liked him first, but it doesn’t matter.
I still like him.
That doesn’t matter either.
Or at least, it’s not supposed to.
(page 1) The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

Sarah has a lot of fantastic internal monologue and readers cannot help but be entertained by them. Reading this book, I was placed in a dilemma, to side with Sarah or Brianna. I choose Sarah even though the best friend crushing on her BFF’s boyfriend is plain wrong. Why? I detested Brianna from the start, the way she treated Sarah was unacceptable and I had no idea how Sarah could stand her. I had absolutely no sympathy for Brianna who constantly flirted with other guys.

The doubts, the longing, the chemistry – it was all there, front and center, for the reader to experience. Scott has a knack for writing great romances with a similar feel to Sarah Dessen. It gave me the butterflies just reading the scenes with sexual tension. Sarah’s timid behavior was irritating after a while, I longed for her to stand up for herself and not bottle up her feelings. You would imagine Ryan to be a perfect guy but he’s not. I was annoyed with Ryan because he did not reject Brianna. He waited so long to confess his crush and that should be unacceptable. 😛

Overall, The Unwritten Rule was quite predictable but I completely felt for Sarah and nonetheless recommend it to anyone looking for a light read. If you’re a former Scott fan, The Unwritten Rule might not be on par with Love You Hate You Miss You but it is a reminiscent of Something Maybe. If you never tried Scott’s works before, I recommend you picking up Stealing Heaven or Love You Hate You Miss You the next time you are at the bookstore.

Review copy provided by publisher.

Comments on: "The Unwritten Rule" (2)

  1. I liked this one too, though I didn’t think it was as good as some of Elizabeth’s other books. As always, the characters were nice and realistic, which is what I like! 🙂

  2. stopdropandplot said:

    I haven’t read it but huge props to whoever designed the cover. It’s gorgeous. Perfect colors, typography, and photograph.

Leave a Reply

