YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 1st 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4.25/5 stars)

Synopsis: What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all—looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12th should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it’s her last. The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. In fact, she re-lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she had ever imagined.

Review: I admit, I still have mixed feelings about this book but I believe that a book has to be amazing book in order for it to linger long in my mind, days after reading it. The reason why I did not rate this book 5/5 is because of the slight ambiguity of the ending. If you’ve read the book, were you satisfied with how this played out? I understand why Oliver chose that route but it still breaks my heart every time I think about it.

Before I Fall is a story like no other, with its great plot and three-dimensional authentic characters, it is one book that received a lot of buzz. There’s no doubt that it is a beautifully written book. Reading this novel, I felt as if I was Sam, watching everything unfold from her eyes. I sympathized with her, but at times, I wanted to scream at her for her crappy decisions. And I definitely wanted to scream at one of her friends for her recklessness.

Sometimes I can read a book without feeling much emotions, but with Before I Fall, I laughed, cheered, may have screamed and nearly cried. The romance was tricky but Oliver pulled it off. It was wonderful reading scenes with Sam and the guy-who-will-not-be-named. Their love blossomed slowly and I appreciated how they did not rush into the relationship. If Oliver had added just a little more sprinkle of romance, you will find me with tears streaming down my face when I finished the novel. That is a high compliment because I almost never cry while reading books, well, except for that one time.

I particularly enjoyed how each day was almost the same as the previous but by doing the slightest thing differently, it leads to a different outcome. Oliver’s writing is rich and compelling and all the descriptions were so well-done that they painted vivid images in my mind. This novel is not one you will fall in love with immediately, instead, as the story progresses, you will start caring for the characters and by the end of the book, even if you still do not love them, you’ll still notice that the main character, Sam, experience tremendous character growth. I was rooting for Sam by the end of the novel; my emotions running high.

Lauren Oliver is definitely one author you should watch out for. Her sophomore novel, Delirium, will be out in 2011 and just so you know, I went to Goodreads and added Delirium to my To-Read list the moment I finished this heartrending novel.

Comments on: "Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver" (1)

  1. Wow. That is a beautiful cover.

Leave a Reply

