YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Everwild by Neal Shusterman
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Publication Date: February 4th 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4.85/5 stars)

Synopsis: Nick, the Chocolate Ogre, and Mary Hightower battle for the fate of Everlost in the thrilling second book in Neal Shusterman’s Skinjacker Trilogy. (From now on, all synopsis from the publisher will be in italics.)

Review: If you thought the first book in the Skinjackers series, Everlost, was good, this one was 100 times better! Everwild blew my mind! Left me shocked, jaw wide open and speechless. Finally I could muster a word to describe this book, mind-blowing. Everlost had a lot of worldbuilding and the action took place during the second half of the book. Everwild launched straight into the action and had it right from the very first page. This book is what I imagine would be if Suzanne Collins and William Golding wrote a book together. That is how amazing it is.

One thing I noticed about Shusterman’s books are that they are a) highly addictive and b) have characters that are realistic and show growth throughout the book c) some slight romance but nothing too overwhelming. Now, doesn’t that sound like something Hunger Games fans want while waiting for Mockingjay?

The characters are amazingly engaging, each and every one of them change throughout the book, whether for good or bad. One thing I particularly like was that the romance is not forced. The difference between this romance and other romances is that the main protag is not obsess with their crush. They don’t constantly think “… is so handsome, I want to snog him/her so badly!” None of that.

The whole book was so addictive, once I started, I had to keep going. I think I will be adding it to my favorite books of all time list. I can go on and on about why I adored this book but I’ll stop here. If you have yet to read the Skinjackers series, you should give it a try if you loved Hunger Games and Gone. Also, I would not hesitate to hand this over to my 12-year-old cousin. This book is totally PG! The third book comes out next year in US and 2011 in UK. The Wait. Is. Killing. Me.

Comments on: "Everwild by Neal Shusterman" (5)

  1. *I Want!*

    Seriously speaking, the only reason that stops me from buying this book the last time I went to the bookstore was because the cover is slightly crumple. Yes, I am meticulous about that stuff and now I am SO craving to read this book! Thanks for this great review, I think I’ll have to resort to Book Depo and buy it as soon as possible.

  2. Oh great now I need to run to the bookstore! I LOVED the first book and if this one is better! Might be a Nook download. I honestly think it’s an under-rated book – one that not enough people know about.

    Thanks for you review.

  3. Elizabeth said:

    Just by reading the inside cover I knew it would be good, and it was better than good!!

Leave a Reply

