YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (52)

I did not receive anything this week except for a lovely card and bookmarks by a very awesome author. Thank you so much! You know who you are. 🙂 I love getting notes and cards from authors, yes, I do keep them and treasure them!

You can skip ahead and read the rest of my IMM post or you can choose to continue reading this. A recent incident at the library made me terribly upset, I wanted a new arrival book which wasn’t on shelf yet and the librarian told me to wait while she went to get it. But she came out a few minutes later without the book and told me to “Go and check out other books on the shelf. See our new arrivals sections.” WTF, her words didn’t even make sense. Argh! She refused to give me my new book and I had no choice but to reserve it and pick it up from the library another day. Oh the irony. I have a sneaking suspicion that my reserved copy was the same copy I wanted to borrow. This whole paragraph may or may not make sense to you but I just needed to vent, somewhere.

Anyway apart from that librarian, our library is actually pretty cool.

Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
Restless souls and empty hearts.

Brooklyn can’t sleep. Her boyfriend, Lucca died a year ago, and now their friend Gabe has died of an overdose. Every time she closes her eyes, Gabe’s ghost is there, waiting for her. She has no idea what he wants or why it isn’t Lucca chasing her through her dreams.

Nico can’t stop. He’s always running, trying so hard not to feel the pain of missing Lucca. But when he begins receiving messages from his dead brother, telling him to help Brooklyn, emotions come crashing to the surface.

As the nightmares escalate and the messages become relentless, Nico reaches out to Brooklyn. But neither of them can admit that they’re being haunted. Until they learn to let each other in, not one soul will be able to rest.

(Already read it, I am in love with Lisa Schroeder’s writing. You have to read this book. I’m not kidding. Add it to your To-Buy list ASAP.)

Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien
After climate change, on the north shore of Unlake Superior, a dystopian world is divided between those who live inside the wall, and those, like sixteen-year-old midwife Gaia Stone, who live outside. It’s Gaia’s job to “advance” a quota of infants from poverty into the walled Enclave, until the night one agonized mother objects, and Gaia’s parents are arrested.

Badly scarred since childhood, Gaia is a strong, resourceful loner who begins to question her society. As Gaia’s efforts to save her parents take her within the wall, she herself is arrested and imprisoned.

Fraught with difficult moral choices and rich with intricate layers of codes, BIRTHMARKED explores a colorful, cruel, eerily familiar world where one girl can make all the difference, and a real hero makes her own moral code.

(So excited to read this one. I read about 30 pages of it already and I have a feeling I’m going to love this one.)

Sliding on the Edge by C. Lee McKenzie
Something’s wrong.
It’s not a heart-grabbing noise like when somebody jiggles the doorknob to see if it’s locked. It’s not a bitter smell like the electrical short we had last month, when all the breakers popped. No. It’s something in the air, something like a ghost making its way through the room. And it can’t be Monster, not after last night.

Shawna Stone is sixteen going on twenty-five. Already deeply scarred, she has learned to survive with a tough attitude and a thin blade. Her journey is destined to be short. Sliding on the Edge enters the world of a desperate teen and her disillusioned grandmother, each with secrets that stir mutual distrust. As these two unlikely companions struggle to co-exist we are reminded that the human spirit has the capacity to overcome even the deepest suffering.

(Shawna’s voice drew me in from the first page. Cannot wait to read this as well! Sliding on the Edge is a lesser known book and if I like it, I will definitely try to get the word out about it.)

The River by Mary Jane Beaufrand
Veronica Severance feels cut off from the world. Forced to move from the city to rural Oregon with her parents, she is haunted by loneliness and by the chilling sounds of the Santiam, the river that runs through her backyard.

Through the fog of isolation, Ronnie finds herself becoming close with Karen, a young girl who she babysits. But when she discovers Karen’s body on the banks of the Santiam, the victim of a supposed accident, Ronnie feels compelled to uncover the truth.

As she becomes increasingly obsessed with solving Karen’s death, Ronnie is led deeper and deeper into the woods surrounding the river and to the dark secret hidden within its midst.

The River is a darkly atmospheric story of murder, isolation, obsession and dark secrets that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page.

(The River was quite an interesting read, I enjoyed the plot and the characters but I felt that some elements of the book was not well developed.)

Let me know what you think of these books if you’ve already read them!

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (52)" (9)

  1. Great books for this week. I especially like the sound of Sliding on The Edge! Happy Reading

  2. I really enjoyed Chasing Brooklyn, and Birthmarked looks fantastic. Hope you enjoy them all! 🙂

  3. Great books this week! I have heard awesome things about Brooklyn. I just finished Birthmarked and it was great!! I hope you enjoy your books.

  4. Wow I like your library. I really liked I heart you, You haunt me and am intrigued by Chasing Brooklyn, looking forward to finding out what you think about it 🙂

  5. Nice books this week! I hope you enjoy them all. My IMM is here. Happy reading!

  6. You made this week perfect, Kate. I just sold my second book, and then you posted about Sliding on the Edge, which will always be tucked under my heart.

    Thanks, C. Lee

  7. I loved Chasing Brooklyn! Bookmarked looks very good too. Enjoy! 🙂

  8. Good books, hope you enjoy them! My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

Leave a Reply

