YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Books undergo many cover changes before they come to the final cover. The final cover that will be seen by YOU, dear readers, in the bookstores. I will be talking about two books today, both of their cover underwent changes before the final covers were released.

The first book is One Night That Changes Everything by Lauren Barnholdt.

Personally, I loved the first cover. The lights and everything were beautiful. But it looked a little sad to me which contradicted the synopsis. It’s supposed to be a ‘hilarious and sweet teen novel’. Barnholdt said on Twitter that the new cover fits the book more so of course they want what’s best for the book.

The second book is Confessions Of The Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford.

The first cover was pretty but it’s too plain and is not likely to catch my eye at the bookstore. The second and final cover is very Pretty Little Liars-ish and I think will definitely appeal to fans of PPL.

So what are your thoughts on both books’ covers?

Comments on: "Book covers: before and after" (6)

  1. I love the covers for the Lauren Barnholdt books. But if the book’s supposed to be funny, then the second cover works better.
    And I completeñy agree with you on the second cover of the Sisters being kinda PPL-ish. But it’d definitely catch my eye at a bookstore.
    Cool post!

  2. I love all covers! but the Afters are wayyy better!!! lol awesome post =)

  3. 1inseveralbillion said:

    I really like the before cover of one night that changes everything but I agree, it looks kind of sad with the dark figure and the lights behind it. I definitely like the after one better for Confessions of the sullivan sisters. The first looks too serious and boring while the second looks fun😉

  4. I like better the AFTER covers.

  5. Glad they went with 2nd choice..Better Visual

  6. Visually, I prefer the before cover of One Night That Changed Everything, but the after cover of Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters. However, as I haven’t read either book I can’t comment if either of the covers suit them.

Leave a Reply

