YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: March 2nd 2010
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Silver star (3.25/5 stars)
Synopsis: Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Review: I had very high hopes for Hex Hall, or perhaps too high, because I was not extremely satisfied when I finished the book.

First off, a reform school for vampires, faeries, shapeshifters, etc etc is sheer brilliance. It takes supernatural to a whole new level! I particularly like the creepy setting of the book, some scenes gave me the chills, especially with a killer on the loose.

While everyone said that Hex Hall was hilarious, I did not find myself laughing as much as I hoped. Yes, Hawkins attempted to put in a funny sarcastic line in each page but I did not find myself laughing-out-loud. But I appreciated Sophie’s humor and I think other people will find themselves bursting into a grin every once in a while.

Characters wise, I thought Sophie’s voice ringed true and her character showed slight development throughout the book. She was a wonderful character, not once annoying or shallow. The secondary characters, however, bothered me. First off, I hate to say this but the characters were cliché. There were the mean girls, the typical trio, then there was the heart-throb and the outcast best friend. Except for being cliché, I did not have any problems with them. Sophie’s best friend, Jenna, had a great personality and the three witches did a pretty good job being evil manipulative bitches.

That being said, the writing flowed swiftly and this is one of the book that is deemed as ‘unputdownable’. You will never know what will happen next and will have no choice but to keep speculating until Hawkins throws in a twist and surprises you. The mystery kept me reading and I tore through the last 60 pages to get to the end. The ending left me flabbergasted, in a good way. I’d do a lot to get my hands on the next book! Recommended to girls between 12-16!

Shoutout to the awesome cover designer, whoever you are! I adore the cover, it’s simply gorgeous.

Comments on: "Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins" (3)

  1. I’m reading mixed reviews for Hex Hall. YA is something I dabble in, so I don’t know if it’s worth it for me to pick this one up.

    • You should still read this if you like something very chicklit-ish but with a dash of paranormal.

      Almost all the reviews I’ve seen enjoyed this book so maybe it’s just me.

  2. The cover is so beautiful. Really eye-catching.

    I like the idea of a reform school🙂 Probably will read it.

Leave a Reply

