YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Archive for April 11, 2010

5 copies of Princess For Hire to be won!

When a well-dressed woman steps out of a bubble and wants to know if you’d like to become a substitute princess, do you
A) run
B) faint
C) say yes?
For Desi Bascomb, who’s been longing for some glamour in her Idaho life, the choice is a definite C). Desi has a rare ability: with the help of “Royal Rouge,” she can temporarily transform into the exact look-alike of any princess who needs her subbing services. Dream come true, right?
Well, Desi soon discovers that subbing involves a lot more than wearing a tiara and waving at cameras…. In this winning debut, one girl’s dream of glamour transforms into the desire to make a positive impact. And an impact Desi makes, one royal fiasco at a time.

Sounds good right? Well I am giving away 5 copies of Princess For Hire! Yes, FIVE shiny brand new ones. Five winners! I will draw 2 international winners and 3 US/Canada winners. However, you must be a follower/email subscriber to enter.

Contest ends on 20th May 2010.

CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED. THANKS FOR ENTERING!

In My Mailbox (48)

I haven’t done IMM in ages and I apologize for the lack of it. Oh and for those of you wondering when the Princess For Hire giveaway will be up, I’ll be posting it later today. Note: picture below does not include library books.


Oh my, pardon my awful Photoshopping skills. I am desperately in need of caffeine.

Received:
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver SIGNED thanks to the brilliant Daisy Whitney! Soo excited to read it! One of the best contest wins ever. 😀 My copy of Before I Fall is one of a kind because Lauren actually drew in it! How awesome is that?
Captivate by Carrie Jones thanks to the fabulous Reggie, who by the way, is my affiliate. I’m sorry I haven’t posted about it till now!
Swoon At Your Own Risk by Sydney Salter as part of my giant blogoversary giveaway.
Eighth-Grade Superzero by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich thanks to Olugbemisola herself!
A Most Improper Magick (Unladylike Adventures of Kat Stephenson) by Stephanie Burgis won from Kim Harrington.

Borrowed:
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
The Life of Glass by Jillian Cantor
Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu
The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan
Broadway Lights by Jen Calonita

I already read The Iron King and it definitely lived up to the hype. One of my favorite quotes from The Iron King.

“Bravo,” said Grimalkin, peering down from Cold Tom’s chest. “The Winter prince and Oberon’s jester agreeing on something. The world must be ending.”
Like this quote? Click here to add it to your Goodreads fave quotes!

What did you get in your mailbox?