YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Hi all! Today we have Amy Brecount, author of Forget-Her-Nots, stopping by as part of the Spread the Flower Love blog tour. I tried to be as creative as I could in my questions– enjoy!

What was your first reaction when you saw the cover for Forget-Her-Nots?
Amazement. It wasn’t what I expected – which was a hand holding forget-me-nots or something like that – but so eye-catching. I knew immediately it was going to appeal to flower lovers of all ages!

If someone told you 20 years ago that you would be a published author, what would your reaction be?
I would have jumped up and down, because that’s been my dream for a long time. I just didn’t think it would take quite this long! It was worth the wait!

If you could go back in time and tell your 16-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?
Can I give myself two?

One: Enjoy the ride. I was really focused on good grades, good college, etc. I had a great time, too, but I could have relaxed more and realized things have way of working out.

Two: Don’t go out with the same guy for more than six months. I dated one guy for about two years, because he’d start crying every time I tried to break up, and he was a really nice guy. Not a good enough reason to stay together. High school dating (and college too) are times to figure out what you want in a guy and what you need. Very few people find their soul mate in high school, so I wish I would have dated more people. It all did work out, though. I’m very happily married to my college sweetheart. 🙂

What was one Young Adult book that left you a lasting impression long after you read it?
Definitely The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It was so beautifully and originally told, and I just bawled at the end. I also read that Zusak wrote and rewrote the story from several points of view, so that made me feel better about taking a long time to write my first novel.

What are your top 3 favorite flowers and why?
Gardenia (for ecstasy and transport) – I adore the scent, the smooth ivory bud, and waxy green leaves.
Purple irises (to send a message) – I love the Siberian ones which are smaller and daintier and form clumps. However, the larger irises have the most amazing scent. You should never pass one without inhaling. J
Pansies (for thoughts of you) – In Virginia, you plant them in the fall and they come back in the spring. They are just so cheery and have a variety of lovely colors!

Back in high school, if a guy wanted to ask you out, what type of flowers would you want him to buy for you (it’d be great if you mention the color of it as well)? 😀
Red tulips to declare love would be a good choice or purple lilac for the first emotions of love. If a guy did that, I’d know he was serious.

Are you currently working on anything? Is it ok if you tell us in one sentence what it is about? (unless it’s super top secret!)
I’m writing a realistic novel called STRING THEORIES that’s about the physics of relationships, love and lust, and getting even.

Fellow Tenner Christina Gonzalez, says like the petals of a rose, this book has layers of loveliness. Ultimately, what would you like people to take away from your book?
I LOVE that quotation from Christina. She’s so lyrical! My Publishers Weekly review said I showed a “reverence for the natural world.” I’d really love for people to take that reverence away from the novel and also the idea that we all need a whole lot more flowers in the world!

Thanks so much for having me, Kate!!


Amy asked me to chose a flower and I decided to go with amaryllis. Here’s a little background about the story of the amaryllis.

Legend has it that the amaryllis – the stunning red flower we’ve come to associate with the holidays – began as a shy, timid nymph. Amaryllis fell deeply in love with Alteo, a shepherd with Hercules’ strength and Apollo’s beauty, but her affections were unrequited. Hoping that she could win him over by bestowing upon him the thing he desired most – a flower so unique it had never existed in the world before – Amaryllis sought advice from the oracle of Delphi.

Following his instructions, Amaryllis dressed in maiden’s white and appeared at Alteo’s door for 30 nights, each time piercing her heart with a golden arrow. When at last Alteo opened his door, there before him was a striking crimson flower, sprung from the blood of Amaryllis’s heart. With this romantic – albeit tragic – tale as its beginning, it’s not surprising that today the amaryllis has come to symbolize pride, determination and radiant beauty.

Follow the blog tour and collect those flowers and you can win copies of Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu and Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins along with FHN swag and a Language of Flowers booklet! This is kinda top secret info but Amy said that she will be mentioning amaryllis in her next book! Too cool!

Comments on: "Spread the Flower Love Blog Tour: Interview with Amy Brecount" (3)

  1. It amazed me how much Amy knows about flower. I wish I know that much. Very informative interview and I especially like the “go back in time” question. I certainly wish that I could have that chance to go back to my 16 y.o. self and try to change a few stuffs *lol*

  2. Have not read the book thief yet, I need to add that to my list. Great interview.

  3. Bianca F said:

    I havent read the book thief either, will check it out, i love the flower amaryllis! i do love the go back in time question!

Leave a Reply

