YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Oh, earlier on, I accidentally posted a review which wasn’t suppose to be up till next week. Sorry! I didn’t want it to clash with blogoversary posts. I think my brain was still rather groggy.

Sydney Salter is the author of My Big Nose and Other Natural Disasters and the upcoming Swoon at Your Own Risk! Come back at the end of the week to win both books (together with other great books!).

What first inspired My Big Nose And Other Natural Disasters?
I didn’t like my nose in high school, but I also wanted something good to come from a disastrous job experience I had one summer (think smashed wedding cakes, crushed delivery van doors…and a very angry boss). The title kind of wrote itself.

Jory is a rather accident-prone protagonist. Was she inspired by anyone you knew in real life?
Me! I don’t think I’m a terrible driver, but when it comes to backing up—well, I’ve gotten into a few scrapes (those parts of the story are unfortunately true). Last winter I backed into my sister-in-law’s car in my driveway. And I knew it was there. I’d just been talking to her!

I’m also dangerous around cakes. While there’s only one bride who may never forgive me for destroying her wedding reception, I’ve since had my share of other frosting-based mishaps (tumbled cupcakes, a cake gnawed by my dog minutes before a birthday party, a pirate ship cake that looked like it had lost a big battle).
I’m just not as coordinated as I’d like to be!

If someone told you 20 years ago that you would be a published author, what would your reaction be?
Are you sure? I’m not too boring? Too normal? Really!?! I mean that’s what I want, but I’m kind of too afraid to try. What if I can’t do it?

I spent a lot of years desperately wanting to write, but I was so afraid to fail at my biggest dream, that I simply didn’t try. Now I know that rejection is part of the publishing experience—for everyone.

If you could go back in time and tell your 16-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?
Be true to yourself—that’s what people really find attractive (and you’ll be a lot happier too).

Do you have any advice you like to give to aspiring young authors?
Write in a diary every day—even on those boring, nothing-good-ever-happens-to-me days. You’ll develop your writing voice as well as collect amazing tidbits that will be useful in writing fiction.

My Big Nose And Other Natural Disasters is both funny and heartbreaking. Ultimately, what would you like people to take away from your book?
I want my readers to be nicer to themselves (and others too). Maybe you don’t hate your nose, but could you maybe love your thighs a little more? Give yourself credit for being amazing, okay?

Are you currently working on anything? Is it ok if you tell us in one sentence what it is about? (unless it’s super top secret!)
I just sent my agent a YA about an art prodigy who wants to keep her painting private, but her dad hangs her artwork in his new museum exhibit for the whole world to see.

Chose one:
Lady Gaga or Britney Spears?
Lady Gaga (love her creativity!)
Romeo or Mr Darcy?
Mr. Darcy (That whole Romeo and Juliet situation just frustrates me).
Hardcover or paperback?
Paperback to read, hardcover to own.
Fairytales or zombie apocalypse?
Fairytales (I love a happy ending).

Comments on: "Sydney Salter is dangerous around cakes!" (2)

  1. I hear you on the cakes! LOL Seems my best intentions are just never good enough… thank goodness for the local bakery!

  2. Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

Leave a Reply

