YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

I did this interview with Maggie last year and I haven’t found a suitable opportunity to post it. But now, here’s my chance! Maggie Stiefvater is the author of Shiver (which is so unbelievably amazing) and Lament and Ballad.

What inspired you to write Shiver? I get asked this question a lot. Here’s an interview that talks about it. Basically I write novels to toy with people’s emotions. *evil grin* I wanted to write a novel with characters people would miss after they turned the last page.

Was it more challenging to write in Grace’s POV or Sam’s POV?
They’re both challenging in their own way. Grace is very pragmatic and to the point, and Sam is very: “look! a pretty bird!” When I needed to get things done, I swapped to Grace. When I wanted the reader to get the beauty or pathos of a situation, I swapped to Sam.

Was Sam’s character inspired by anyone you know of? Or were any characters inspired by someone you knew in real life?
In Shiver, not so much. I stole parts of me for Sam and parts of my husband for Grace, but really, all of my characters start with stolen pieces of real people cobbled together into Frankenstein people.

Where do you mostly do your writing?
In my studio, listening to my playlists, smiling at my Mac, Mr. Darcy (so-named because he was difficult to get to know, but worth it in the end). I also have a laptop that I take with me when I travel for conferences and stuff.

If someone told you ten years ago that you would be an author, what would your reaction be?
“Well, duh.”

I always wanted to be a writer, and I’ve been writing every since I was a tiny maggot. This was always the goal, and I was always filled with this rather unrealistic certainty that one day this would be my career.

Now if they told me that I was going to be on the NYT bestseller list, have rights sold in 30 countries, and that Warner Bros. would option the film rights right after SHIVER came out? Then I may have laughed and pointed.

If Shiver was made into a movie, who would you pick to play Grace and Sam?
You can view the list over at Maggie’s blog.
I fully support Eliza Bennett. Maggie, I think Logan Lerman would be an ideal Sam! His hot!

Can you share some advice to those doing NaNoWriMo this month?
I have broken up with NaNo. NaNo was a bad literary boyfriend.

If possible, can you share your NaNoWriMo past experience? =D
I found that I need time to reflect on what I’ve written in order for it to be meaningful, instead of just on autopilot. It takes me about three-four months to write a novel, in general (rough draft), and when I wrote stuff that I liked during NaNo, I ended up writing 23,000 words in November . . . pretty much right on schedule for writing a novel in three months. What can I say, I like my process. 😉


Sorry for the random NaNoWriMo questions. 😛 You can guess when I interviewed Maggie… xD THANK YOU Maggie, glad to have you on the blog!

Comments on: "Monday with Maggie Stiefvater!" (1)

  1. Aloha!!=)

    I love this interview. Sam and Grace are so sweet and I am dying to read more of them!!

Leave a Reply

