YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Shadowland by Alyson Noel

Shadowland by Alyson Noel
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: 17 November 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Bronze star (1/5 stars)

Synopsis: Ever and Damen have traveled through countless past lives—and fought off the world’s darkest enemies—so they could be together forever. But just when their long-awaited destiny is finally within reach, a powerful curse falls upon Damen…one that could destroy everything. Now a single touch of their hands or a soft brush of their lips could mean sudden death—plunging Damen into the Shadowland. Desperate to break the curse and save Damen, Ever immerses herself in magick—and gets help from an unexpected source…a surfer named Jude.

Although she and Jude have only just met, he feels startlingly familiar. Despite her fierce loyalty to Damen, Ever is drawn to Jude, a green-eyed golden boy with magical talents and a mysterious past. She’s always believed Damen to be her soulmate and one true love—and she still believes it to be true. But as Damen pulls away to save them, Ever’s connection with Jude grows stronger—and tests her love for Damen like never before…

Review: Honestly, while I loved Evermore, my interest slowly faded in Blue Moon. And by Shadowland, I strongly dislike the series and will not be reading any of the future books. While Noel could have turned the story into something brilliant, I found the whole thing too repetitive and predictable. The beginning started out really slowly, my interest in it barely there. It picked up a bit when Ever met the twins. The whole time I was reading this book, I was waiting for it to go somewhere, for something exciting to happen. But the only excitement happened at the end which resulted in another cliffhanger and more questions.

Ever was annoying throughout the entire novel. Her thoughts were frankly too immature and eye rolling. Her character was so shallow, after Damen started leading a less ‘expensive and flashy’ lifestyle, she became angry at him. Superficial much? The interaction between Ever and Damen became dull and repetitive. Jude was there but never fully there. He was there for maybe one or two chapters before disappearing and only to reappear again at the end. Same thing with Roman. All characters were hardly developed.

In this book, Ever and Damen can’t touch because of the stupid thing Ever did in the previous because. But I don’t see how touching someone’s skin is mixing DNA. What. The. Hell. I’m pretty sure you can only mix DNA through bodily fluids like blood… It makes me wonder if Noel thinks that we will really buy this.

The plot itself was so predictable and at the end, Ever gets herself into a situation that was so ridiculously unbelievable. Ever is one of the stupidest heroines ever; I wanted to bang my head against a wall because of her utter stupidity. I find it ridiculous that Ever gets herself into such stupid situations, if you thought Bella Swan was dumb, this book will make Bella have a 4.0 GPA.

To sum up my thoughts on Shadowland, very unsatisfying and this is one book I am glad that I did not buy and do not recommend at all. Please, save that money and get something else instead. If, for some reason, you want to torture yourself by reading it, get it at the library. If you hated Blue Moon, don’t bother about this book. You’ll hate it even more. I’m extremely disappointed.

Comments on: "Shadowland by Alyson Noel" (17)

  1. I don’t think I’ll even start this series honestly.

  2. Ciarra May L. Mejia said:

    im still waiting for the paper back cover actually.. looking forward to it

  3. i am reding this book now nad i love it!!

  4. Alaleh_cullen said:

    I think it’s a great book and im gonna read all the series

  5. i AM READING IT NOW GOT IT 4 MY BDAY!

  6. I liked BlueMoon. Yeah some of it was annoying and boring but I loved the plotline. I am deffo reading shadowland Can’t wait

  7. I am I guy. And I personally thought the book wuz ok… But sum parts made no sense and was just a waste of pages and words…

  8. I hope you guys realize that Night Star is coming out this winter. And any of you don’t truly know if the rest of the series is good or not. It could get better you know. Iread The first tow, it interests me because my mind belives in that kind of stuff and me in particualr, I do as well. I’m just starting to read Shadowland and then after that, Dark Flame. I read a little of Shadowland all ready, it doesn’t seem too bad. And Night Star is the 5th book in the series and I actually like it. Just because you didn’t like the series, doesn’t mean any one else has to liek it or not. If they do, they do. If not, well, that’s their choice. Don’t make choices for them. I don’t let any one else make choices for me. Ilike the series. It’s really good.

  9. This book is awsome i love it.It is the best book i have read so far well evermore,Blue Moon,and the rest.Alyson is a great writter. 🙂

  10. the books totally kick ass! even thought i have to say that ever is not the brightest girl and damen is obviously too patient to put up with her shit. jude has to be the only character i like in the series cuz he got DREADS!!!

  11. naa i like damen better n damen has to put up with her shit because he loves her thats why he puts up with her and her shit

  12. I have’nt read this book yet… I want to because I just got done reading Bluemoon (and Evermore). I’m waiting ti’ll tomorrow when I can get this next one. I loved the other two books, they were really good. I’m sure the rest of the books are going to be good too, no doubt.

Leave a Reply

