YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

To kick off February, I will be having authors guest blog throughout the first three (or four) weeks. These authors have books that will be released sometime in February, but today’s guest blog will be by the awesome Alexandra Diaz whose book Of All the Stupid Things was released in December. She was generous enough to provide pictures of the places she has traveled to! How pretty! Remember to click on them to view it full size. Note: The pictures are not in any specific order.

Alexandra Diaz in Jardin de Gaudi.


Whether it’s because we moved a few times when I was younger or the fact that I’m a double Sagittarius (the astrological sign of the traveler), the prospect of traveling has always thrilled me.

Northwest Mallorca


I was about four when I first saw a world map and right away I noticed how North and South America are connected. I thought it would be great to travel from the furthest most tip of Alaska to the absolute end of Chile. I still have the idea that I would like to do that someday.

Other than the US and Puerto Rico, I have also lived in Austria and England. I fell in love at once with the Austrian Alps; I would like nothing more than to spend a month there every summer. I love that you can go hiking for hours and come across a guest house where you get great coffee and cakes but the only way to get to this hidden place is by taking a hike and enjoying the mountain views.

Eilean Donan, Scotland

Until recently, England was my home for the last 3 1/2 years. Not only did I have a great group of friends, I loved the greenery and the fact that the rest of Europe was so close by.

Bruge, Belgium

I really feel like I had a good life in England and the fact that immigration laws prevent me from still being there bothers me to pieces.

I personally feel like I should be European and would gladly reside in most of the countries I have been to in Western Europe. I feel the world holds so many wonders, it’s a shame to stay in one place. I am certainly the happiest when I have a trip, whether a hundred miles or a thousand, to look forward to.

Meteora, Greece

Meteora, Greece

Alexandra Diaz is a Cuban-American spending her time between Bath, England, Santa Fe, NM, and the rest of the world. She has an MA in Writing for Young People and has led various workshops since she was fourteen. As a result of being homeschooled for most of high school, she’s fascinated by teenage school life and the drama that occurs in those quarters. One of the reasons she writes is to experience life in someone else’s shoes. She is a “jenny of all trades” having worked as a nanny, teacher, film extra, tour guide, and dairy goat judge (seriously) among several other jobs. In addition to traversing the world, she enjoys hiking, swing dancing, and the prospect of flying.

Visit Alexandra at her website www.alexandra-diaz.com.

The first person who posts in the comments asking for a signed bookplate will receive one! Note: provided you live in Australia, New Zealand or somewhere in Asia. I might make exceptions for UK. Reason being, I’m broke so I can’t send to my dear US readers. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

