YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (40)

Another week has passed, but for me, this week went rather slowly at times and very fast at other times. Shall I share a bit of my week? Well for starters, I was filled with homework and what not. Urgh, apologies for the lack of posts this week. I also have been in a reading slump for a while now, hopefully it’ll be over soon.

Received for review:
Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt
When a well-dressed woman steps out of a bubble and wants to know if you’d like to become a substitute princess, do you
A) run
B) faint
C) say yes?
For Desi Bascomb, who’s been longing for some glamour in her Idaho life, the choice is a definite C). Desi has a rare ability: with the help of “Royal Rouge,” she can temporarily transform into the exact look-alike of any princess who needs her subbing services. Dream come true, right?
Well, Desi soon discovers that subbing involves a lot more than wearing a tiara and waving at cameras…. In this winning debut, one girl’s dream of glamour transforms into the desire to make a positive impact. And an impact Desi makes, one royal fiasco at a time.

Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey
Jill Jekel has always obeyed her parents’ rules – especially the one about never opening the mysterious, old box in her father’s office. But when her dad is murdered, and her college savings disappear, she’s tempted to peek inside, as the contents might be key to a lucrative chemistry scholarship.

To better her odds, Jill enlists the help of gorgeous, brooding Tristen Hyde, who has his own dark secrets locked away. As the team of Jekel and Hyde, they recreate experiments based on the classic novel, hoping not only to win a prize, but to save Tristen’s sanity. Maybe his life. But Jill’s accidental taste of a formula unleashes her darkest nature and compels her to risk everything – even Tristen’s love – just for the thrill of being. bad.

I love getting mail! Who doesn’t?

Borrowed:
Shadowland by Alyson Noel
Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
A Banquet for Hungry Ghosts: A Collection of Deliciously Frightening Tales by Ying Chang Compestine

Paper Towns by John Green (audiobook)
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (audiobook)

Bought:
The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

I am very excited to read my new books! *grins*

I also received swag from several different people, you know who you are, thank you!

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (40)" (12)

  1. Ooh, Jekel loves Hyde, you lucky thing! I hope you enjoy it.

  2. OMG, Princess for Hire, lucky you!!! Other books sound really good too and I hope you enjoy them all! 🙂

  3. I bought The Last Song too! Ah, so jealous of your review books!! Have fun reading everything 🙂

  4. I got Jekel Loves Hyde this week too! 🙂 Anyway, I hope you enjoy all the books you got.

  5. bookcrazyjenn said:

    Jekel Loves Hyde looks awesome I hope you enjoy it and I will look forward to your review!

  6. The look good. i love the title Jekel Loves Hyde. Enjoy!

    Mine is here: When the Apocalypse Comes Nobody’s Going to Be Punctuating

  7. I’m so incredibly jealous you got Jekel Loves Hyde! That looks fantastic – I loved Jessica’s Guide so I can’t wait to read another book by Beth Fantaskey.

  8. Great books! Jekel Loves Hyde…jealous.

    Here’s what I got this week: http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2010/01/in-my-mailbox-11010.html

    Take care! 😀

  9. Jekel Loves Hyde is getting a lot of buzz around the blogsphere – I will keep an eye out for your review. 🙂

  10. Great books you got this week. Jekel Loves Hyde sounds really good. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

  11. Loved The Last Song!

  12. Ooh, you got Jekel Loves Hyde! I am so looking forward to that one.

Leave a Reply

