YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Interview with Bree Despain

Hi Bree! So what first sparked the idea of The Dark Divine?
Well, the idea for the story was actually the combination of lots of ideas that all came together one night as I was driving and a conversation between a brother and a sister popped into my head. They were discussing a former friend who had recently reappeared in their lives. “Stay away from him” the brother warned, “He’s not who he used to be. He’s dangerous.” That conversation was so haunting; I had to know what was going on and so that night I went home and starting writing.

Can you tell us about how your cover came about?
Back in February my editor asked me if I had any thoughts about what I wanted on the cover. What he got back was a two-page, detailed letter explaining what mood and atmosphere I wanted the cover to convey, and a list of different book covers I thought were good examples of I wantedJ. I was hoping for something beautiful and striking, but also a little eerie at the same time.

I wish I could take credit for the beautiful cover, but the designer, Joel Tippe, deserves all the praise. After exploring a few different concepts, he came up with the cover we all loved. They told me to consider it an abstract representation of the mood of the book rather than of a literal event. However, the cover and the colors used do have more of a connection with the final version of the novel as some minor manuscript revisions were made after the ARCs went to press.

Was Daniel’s character inspired by anyone you know of? Or were any characters inspired by someone you knew in real life?
The idea for Daniel comes from three different guys from my past that pulled similar disappearing acts on me, but he is very much his own personality. Daniel was such a strong character from the beginning. Grace has a little of me in her, but we are definitely different people too. I like to think of her as a stronger version of teenage me. The other characters are not really based on anyone in particular, but do share similar traits with some of the people in my life.

If The Dark Divine was made into a movie, who would you pick to play Grace, Daniel and Jude?
Hey I actually did a post about this (with pictures!) over on The Tenners site. It was a fun conversation.

Bree picked for Daniel as first choice a younger TAYLOR KITSCH, second choice would be ZAC EFRON (I would love to see Zac as Daniel!). For Jude Divine it would be a young TOM WELLING from the early Smallville or CHACE CRAWFORD from Gossip Girl. I totally approve of Chace! And lastly for Grace Divine, Bree picked EMMA ROBERTS whom I reckon is an excellent choice!

Can you share with us why Grace still loved Daniel after all those years. Most girls would have moved on and fallen for another guy.
The relationship that Daniel and Grace share is a lot deeper that simple attraction. It was and is still rooted in a deep friendship and concern for each other’s happiness. Some people will just always be with you and be a part of who you are.

Grace has certainly dated other guys, and she thought she had moved on and gotten over Daniel. That is, until she saw him again and all those feelings and thoughts of what could have been began to return.

Are you currently working on anything?
Yes! I am in the middle of writing the sequel to THE DARK DIVINE. And I have several more stories I hope to tell.

Who are some of your favourite YA authors?
So, so many. Laurie Halse Anderson, Meg Cabot, Sarah Zarr, Emily Wing Smith, Suzanne Collins, to name a few. I’ve recently read HUSH HUSH by Becca Fitzpatrick too and really enjoyed it.

Any advice to people participating in NaNoWriMo? *yes I know November is already over but take it as an advice for next year*
Um… keep writing!

I couldn’t be happier with the cover and was so excited that the designer was able to put my thoughts into print. I hope you all love it as much as I do.

Thanks for the interview! It was a lot of fun.

Comments on: "Interview with Bree Despain" (1)

  1. Ooh The Dark Divine has a sequel? Suh-weeeeet!

Leave a Reply

