YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Publisher: Little Brown
Publication Date: August 1st 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Lia Milthorpe and her twin sister Alice have just become orphans, and, as Lia discovers, they have also become enemies. The twins are part of an ancient prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other. To escape from a dark fate and to remain in the arms of her beloved boyfriend James, Lia must end the prophecy before her sister does. Only then will she understand the mysterious circumstances of her parents’ deaths, the true meaning of the strange mark branded on her wrist, and the lengths to which her sister will go to defeat her. Debut novelist Michelle Zink takes readers on an unforgettable journey where one sister’s fateful decision could have an impact of Biblical proportions. Prophecy of the Sisters is the first of three books.

Review: I read this book not knowing what to expect. It’s set in the 1800s and I honestly have no idea what people did back then. The story starts off in a cemetry. The sisters just lost their father and their mother died when they were little. Soon Lia learns more about the prophecy. It’s not an instant discovery, Lia has to search for answers herself and she cannot ask for help from Alice.

Prophecy of the Sisters was an engrossing, riveting tale that nicely wraps up at the end despite the fact that there are two more books in the series. The plot moves at a steady pace, I won’t say it was slow was the story was addictive, it had me right on the edge of my seat! Initially I was worried that the plot might be too complex for me to understand but it was not. Details are given in such a pace that it’s not too overwhelming, so luckily I could keep up with the story. There are twists throughout the story which were cleverly done.

Lia was a strong girl, she is learning to cope with her father’s death and coming to terms with her role in the prophecy. Alice was creepy, and frankly during a scene where Alice holds out a branch to Lia, I was not sure if Lia should trust her or not. I was worried that Alice might do something crazy and harm Lia! I do, however, wish that Alice was more sinister. I don’t know why but Alice was not sinister enough to me. She needs more ‘creepy factor’. 😛 Readers, don’t worry, Prophecy of the Sisters is not really a horror novel and compared to a ghost story I read and reviewed, Project 17, this one is nothing.

I was disappointed that there were not many scenes with James. I wanted more of James and I hope to see more of him in the future novels. I agree with Rhiannon that Lia made the assumption too soon. Like her I was also confused and went back to read to double check.

It is hard to believe that Michelle Zink is a debut author! This is a novel you should definitely pick up if you love historical fiction or the A Great and Terrible Beauty trilogy. This is the first book in a trilogy so be sure to pick up the second book Guardian of the Gate next year!

Comments on: "Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink" (4)

  1. I really hope the creepy factor goes up in the next book!! I wanted more scenes with James too–not because I need a boy to make the story interesting, but because he seemed kinda superfluous. Glad you enjoyed it on the whole, as did I.

  2. michellezinkbooks said:

    Thanks so much for the lovely review. I promise James plays in important role in the prophecy all the way through book three, but there is also a mysterious new guy introduced in book two, Guardian of the Gate. Both men will play a part in the rest of the series, though not in the way you might think…
    😉

    MZ

  3. I’ve always wanted to read this book! Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

