YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The Everafter by Amy Huntley

The Everafter by Amy Huntley
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 29 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: Madison Stanton doesn’t know where she is or how she got there. But she does know this–she is dead. And alone, in a vast, dark space. The only company she has in this place are luminescent objects that turn out to be all the things Maddy lost while she was alive. And soon she discovers that with these artifacts, she can re-experience–and sometimes even change–moments from her life: Her first kiss. A trip to Disney World. Her sister’s wedding. A disastrous sleepover.

In reliving these moments, Maddy learns illuminating and sometimes frightening truths about her life–and death.

Review: The Everafter has a unique and fascinating premise and the novel most definitely lived up to my expectations. I finished The Everafter in one sitting so to me, it was surprisingly fast-paced. However, sometimes the plot can be slow but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It is through Maddy’s experiences that you learn about her life. Granted, it may be boring at times, like losing a sweatshirt, but you will be so eager to find out how Maddy died that you would not care and just savor everything.

Bits and pieces will gradually start to fall in place throughout the book. I also really liked how this novel was unpredictable. You never know which age Maddy will experience as it is all based on the object she touches. But unfortunately, due to the small amount of time spent during that particular stage of Maddy’s life, her character was not very developed. But I would ignore that teesy problem and focus on the romance.

I loved the relationship between Maddy and Gabe. Gabe is a hot, sweet and nice guy. He definitely cares about Maddy and their love for each other is real. Books these days portray love as what? Making out? The difference between The Everafter and those books is that in this novel, their love is shown by simple sweet gestures like Gabe pushing Maddy’s hair back while she vomits.

The ending was a little too far-fetched but I shall overlook it as serial killers tend to be people who are not right in the mind, right? There are also some loose ends like who ratted Tammy out, the cat’s killer etc but I guess we will never know.

The Everafter makes you appreciate the most insignificant moments in life and it will warm your heart, leaving readers satisfied after they closed the book. You will enjoy The Everafter if you loved If I Stay by Gayle Forman. This book will also appeal to readers who look forward to Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver (2010).

———–
Additional comments: I just want to gush about how I think the song Sweet Dreams by Beyonce is perfect for Maddy and Gabe’s romance. Let’s look at the lyrics…

I wish that when I wake up you’re there
To wrap your arms around me for real
And tell me you’ll stay by side

as well as

Tattoo your name across my heart
So it will remain
Not even death can make us part

Happy reading and listening to Beyonce! 😀

Comments on: "The Everafter by Amy Huntley" (6)

  1. I’m glad to hear you liked this book, I’ve heard good things about it from other sources and am excited to read it now. Thanks for posting about it!

  2. I’ve been hearing a lot of things about this book, and I’m glad you have answered a few questions that I had. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it, and I hope I’ll get the chance to read it soon.

  3. I’ve herad a lot of good things about this book, too. I have in on my TBR pile and can’t wait to read it!

  4. great review, this book is on my TBR pile im very excited to read it;)

  5. Now I want to read the book just because there is a song to be associated with it. 🙂 love that!

  6. I like the cover of this book! It seems like a good book to read!

Leave a Reply

