YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

I thought I saw a tiny cover of Linger on Goodreads the other day and now it’s finally here! 😀

YAYYYYYYYYYYY!


(click on the image for a bigger view of the amazingness)

• grace •

This is the story of a boy who used to be a wolf and a girl who was becoming one.

Just a few months ago, it was Sam who was the mythical creature. His was the disease we couldn’t cure. His was the good-bye that meant the most. He had the body that was a mystery, too strange and wonderful and terrifying to comprehend.

But now it is spring. With the heat, the remaining wolves will soon be falling out of their wolf pelts and back into their human bodies. Sam stays Sam, and Cole stays Cole, and it’s only me who’s not firmly in my own skin.

Cover and excerpt taken from Maggie Stiefvater’s LJ.

UPDATE: CLICK HERE for my review of Linger! *twirls hair* I may have included a teaser…

Here are two teaser quotes for you! Quotes are copyrighted to Scholastic and Maggie Stiefvater.

She leaned toward me, offering her neck, and I kissed her just behind her ear.
— Sam from Linger by Maggie Stiefvater (Add to your Goodreads fave quotes!)

‘What are you wishing for?’ Grace interrupted. ‘To kiss you,’ I said to her.
— Sam from Linger by Maggie Stiefvater (Add to your Goodreads fave quotes!)

Comments on: "Linger by Maggie Stiefvater and excerpt" (23)

  1. Sounds nice, I really should read book 1

    • DUDE r u mental.
      U just said MAYBE i should read the first book.
      And IT SOUNDS NICE.

      R U FEELING OKAY. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVE BOOKS AND A AMAZING ONE I ASURE U.

      SOZ IF I OFFEND.

      I FEEL VERY STRONGLY BOUT BOOKS.

      • lazy bonez said:

        lolz!!!!!! but zobia is rite. BEST BOOK EVEERRR

      • zobiahater said:

        I’m sorry zobia. If you were trying to insult this review try again, I think you’ve failed due to your lack of knowledge in grammer.

    • Acually, i hope she does turn into a wolf. haha, i like it when things like this happen to the main character. lol i can always tell if i adore a book if a suddenly burst out laughing even if it wasnt funny. if she did turn into a wolf thats what would happen 😀

  2. I can not wait for this book to come out! Maggie quickly became one of my favorite authors after I read Shiver! I am SO anxious to see what’s about to happen next!

  3. Can anyone tell me who Cole is?

    • I found a synopsis on Amazon.

      In Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past . . . and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack. And Isabelle, who already lost her brother to the wolves . . . and is nonetheless drawn to Cole.

      At turns harrowing and euphoric, Linger is a spellbinding love story that explores both sides of love — the light and the dark, the warm and the cold — in a way you will never forget.

      • Asiamarie said:

        Okay then am I the ONLY one freaking out because it says, “and it’s only me who’s not firmly in my own skin”???? is Grace gonna be a wolf?? I pray to GOD shes not! That would suck! Does anyone know for sure? Omg im soo worried:\
        Sorry… Im EXTREMELY passionate about my books:)

        please get back to me:))- AsiaMarie xxx-

        • Alexandra said:

          DUDe! IM TOTALLY FReAKING OUT!! SHe BeTTeR NOT BeCOMe WOLF!! AHHH Sam!! im like dying!! i cant wait !

          • princessVAMPZxoxox said:

            omg i cant believe it either – 1st sam now grace – wat the fish ?????????
            aaaaah cant wait 4 it to come out!!!!!!!!!!!!
            dying aswell – we can like totally die 2 gether !!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;]

        • I have pondered about this too. 😦 I hope it doesn’t happen! But there’s a possibility.

          Sorry for the late reply!

    • MY POINT EXACTLY!!!!!. who is COLE!?!’

  4. I loved shiver!!

  5. HOLY CRAP! Is she for real gonna be a wolf???? They just got Sam to the point that he and Grace could be together… like a normal couple… UGH. I mean this is why maggie is such an amazing writer cause she keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seat the whole time but I can’t wait for Linger. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXTTTT!!!

  6. i loved shiver and i really hope grace doesnt become a wolf that would really really SUCK!!!!! my friend and i cant wait for the next book! Maggie Stefvater is one of my favorite authors!

  7. OMG I’m so excited for this book to come out! I LOVED Shiver! I need to read Shiver again for a recap. But I hope Grace doesnt turn into a Wolf!

  8. I bet she does the same thing as what Sam did but she struggles in the beginning because she has a passion for wolves but in the end Grace and Sam have to be together otherwise that’s just so upsetting… x

  9. LINGER IS OUT TODAY. Go and buy it!!! Run to your bookstore!!!!!!

    Sorry, I adore the books so much. 😛

  10. im reading it right now the book is amazing!!! i know linger wasn’t supposed to come out till the 20th but my friend found it at a book store… so i am reading it and i am in love!

  11. oh my god! i’m almost scared to read the book in case it has a heartbreaking ending!

  12. If grace does become a wolf couldn’t they just cure her like she cured Sam. I hope she doesn’t though.

Leave a Reply

