YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Archive for October 25, 2009

Read-a-thon is officially over!

Image hosted by ImageShack
And it’s over, for me. I am super grumpy but not very tired. I didn’t meet my goals and some other members in my household do not like the idea of me reading.

Pages read since last update: 66
Time read since last update: 1h 00m
Total pages read: 503
Minutes Spent Blogging: 10 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 7h 15 min (faillllll) thinking positively, this is an achievement!
Books Read This Hour: Ash by Malinda Lo
Total Books Completed: Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan and Positively by Courtney Sheinmel. Stopped halfway through Ash.
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 6 (if I’m not wrong)
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenging: 220 mins

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
Probably hour 3, I had a hard time concentrating on Love is the Higher Law because I kept YouTubing videos of 9/11 on YouTube.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
Hunger Games series. The following books are books I find addictive though I did not read them during the Read-a-thon. Audrey Wait by Robin Benway, Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz (super creepy and addictive), Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender, Evernight by Claudia Gray, If I Stay by Gayle Forman, Darkest Powers series by Kelley Armstrong, My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Nope, everything’s good. Oh, wait. Can we have more Read-a-thons? Pretty please?
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
I managed to clean my room and read at the same time.
5. How many books did you read?
Two and a half.
6. What were the names of the books you read?
Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan, Positively by Courtney Sheinmel and Ash by Malinda Lo.
7. Which book did you enjoy most?
Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
8. Which did you enjoy least?
None
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
I’m a Reader.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
100% likely. I’ll be a Reader again. But I can’t do any Read-a-thons next year because I have other commitments, but I will definitely do it in 2011 (that’s wayyy in the future).

My Read-a-thon tips:
1. Do not multi-task, it’ll only distract you and slow you down.
2. Do not start off with slow-paced books, try to read something fast-paced.
Those are the two things I learnt.

Overall thoughts: Disappointed that I did not achieve my goals. 😦 But I think it was a fun experience but I wished my family members were more supportive. Usually I don’t read so slow. BLAH. Distractions are not good. And I think the next time I do a read-a-thon, I will try to be more nocturnal and try to sleep for only 3 hours or something.

To the rest of you, KEEP GOING! You can do it. Thanks everyone for commenting! This is my first time participating and it certaintly won’t be my last. Big thanks to everyone over at 24hourreadathon.com for hosting this. You can view my Read-a-thon posts in the 24hr read-a-thon catergory.

Even though the read-a-thon is over for me, I am going to keep reading till I finish my book. 🙂 Expect reviews for Viola in Reel Life, Ballads of Suburbia, Devoured, Love is the Higher Law and Positively over the next two weeks.

Read-a-thon update 4

Just ONE hour left for me. I end at 6:30 PM around the same time as the Australians. Fail. I didn’t get much reading done. But I shall try to read as much as I can for the remaining hour.

Pages Read This Hour: 32
Total Pages Read: 437
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 20 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 6h 15 min (approximately)
Books Read This Hour: Ash by Malinda Lo
Books Completed: 2, Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan and Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 6 I think
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 30 mins maybe
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 210

Read-a-thon update hour 20

Pages Read This Hour: 26
Total Pages Read: 405
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 25 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 6h 00 min (this isn’t very accurate though)
Books Read This Hour: Ash by Malinda Lo
Books Completed: 2, Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan and Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 4
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 20 mins+
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 240 mins I think

Didn’t stick to the plan and read Ash by Malinda Lo instead. I was interupted many times and had to stop resulting in very little reading done. 😦 And I learnt something, try not to start off the read-a-thon with a sad/deep slow-paced book. Love is the Higher Law is short but it’s was slow-paced and I spent way too much time reading it. Next time I should start off with a page-turner like Catching Fire.

Synopsis for Ash: Cinderella retold

In the wake of her father’s death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous fairy Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted.
The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King’s Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns to hunt with Kaisa. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash’s capacity for love-and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love.
Entrancing, empowering, and romantic, Ash is about the connection between life and love, and solitude and death, where transformation can come from even the deepest grief.

Edit: Give Me Five Mini-Challenge
Name five of your favorite children’s books.

  1. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White
  2. (It made me cry, aww.)

  3. Alice series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
  4. (I was addicted to this series.)

  5. The Boxcar Children series by Gertrude Chandler Warner
  6. (Awesome mysteries.)

  7. New Adventures of Mary-Kate & Ashley by several authors
  8. (I was obsessed with MK & A as a child.)

  9. Full House Stephanie series by several authors
  10. (Really loved this series when I was a pre-teen.)

In My Mailbox (29)

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren and she was inspired by Alea.

It was a rather slow week last week but this week was fantastic! 🙂 No images, I am tired of using the program on my slow ancient computer to edit the images. I will be playing around with the trial Photoshop over the next few weeks and see if I like it. And maybe request for the latest version of PS for Christmas. Oops, couldn’t resist posting the picture for Fallen even though I’m not a huge fan of the cover. Check out this trailer for Fallen. I loved the one for Very LeFreak as well.

For review:
Fallen by Lauren Kate
There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.
Click here to win FALLEN!
I’ve been waiting for this book all week but I gave up when I didn’t get anything after five days. Imagine my surprise when my mom handed me the package. I gasped and immediately tore the package. I gave another gasp when I saw Fallen. Eeeeee! Super excited to get started on this but it will have to wait till late November.

From the library:
I pretty much raided the library. I think there’s $100+ worth of books here.
Devoured by Amanda Marrone
Finished this already. It was good, quite suspenseful.
Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan
Words can’t describe how amazing this book is. While Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist was just okay, I LOVED this book.
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink
I am probably the last few on the blogosphere to read PotS. *hangs head in shame*
Ghost Huntress: The Guidance by Marley Gibson
Sequel to the first book. I couldn’t resist!
Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
You have to read this book! It was amazing.
Dani Noir by Nova Ren Suma
I am excited!
Ice by Sarah Beth Durst
Eeee I really like the cover and the synopsis sounds good! Plus I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews of it.

What did you get this week? Hope everyone had a fabulous week! Mine was pretty sucky, but that’s unrelated to books. And I am participating in the read-a-thon. Comments are much appreciated.

Read-a-thon hour 19

I’m doing it hourly now since I’ll be up all the way till the end of the read-a-thon. For me, I have 5 more hours to go. My Math sucks so I probably miscalculated some stuff along the way.

Pages Read This Hour: 72
Total Pages Read: 379
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 55 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 5h 35 min (this isn’t very accurate though)
Books Read This Hour: Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
Books Completed: 2, Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan and Positively by Courtney Sheinmel
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 2
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 10 mins maybe
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 140

Credit to Eva for the list. XD

Next up… Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I am SUPER excited for this book!

Here’s my pick for A Musical Mini-Challenge.


Don’t Forget by Demi Lovato

It reminds me of New Moon by Stephenie Meyer. Just look at the lyrics!

Did you forget
That I was even alive
Did you forget
Everything we ever had
Did you forget
Did you forget
About me

Did you regret
Ever standing by my side
Did you forget
What we were feeling inside
Now I’m left to forget
About us

But somewhere we went wrong
We were once so strong
Our love is like a song
You can’t forget it

I swear the second time I heard the song I cried. Yup, actual tears. This song totally fits the book. Edward left Bella. He said “It’s like I never existed.” And Bella is left alone and she still loves him and thinks about him. Not to mention does crazy things like cliff jumping just to ‘see’ Edward. It’s so heartbreaking.

P.S. It’s totally cool that Courtney Sheinmel commented on my post! Thanks!

Read-a-thon update #3

I am BACKKKKK. Will be updating this post soon with my reading stats but for now, here’s my entry for the Feed Me Seymour! mini challenge.

Lisa put a bowl of cereal in front of me. “Just do your best,” she said. I picked up the spoon and pushed down on the flakes floating in the milk. I liked the way they popped back up. Lisa sat down across from me. “Just a few bites, Emmy,” she said, like I was a little kid. I felt like a little kid, but I also felt older. I closed my eyes and thought about dipping the spoon back into the bowl, scooping out the cereal and bringing it to my mouth, chewing and swallowing. It seemed impossible. My hand felt heavy.

From Positively by Courtney Sheinmel.

Here’s another passage also from Positively.

I squirted some ketchup onto my plate so I could dip my hot dog into it. That’s how I always ate hot dogs — I dipped each bite. I never put the ketchup on top of the hot dog in a line like Whitney did. To me, that looked too much like a vein, and then I always thought of blood and ended up not wanting to eat it.

Pages read since last update: 100
Time read since last update: 2h 01m
Total pages read: 307
Minutes Spent Blogging: 40 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging: 80 mins
I ate McDonalds while reading. =)

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?
Positively by Courtney Shienmel
2. How many books have you read so far?
1 and a half books. That may sound pathetic but I am going to be awake from now till the rest of the read-a-thon.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

Catching Fire!
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?

Not really, I’m usually free on weekends.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
Just go with the flow, read whenever I can!
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
Everyone’s perserverance. None of the blogs I’ve visited have given up.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

Nope.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?

As a Reader, I’d try not to multi-task and focus on reading.
9. Are you getting tired yet?
No, I just woke up!
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?
If the book is boring, give yourself a break and do short activities like snack, listen to music, watch TV for 15 mins, take a quick 15 mins walk, paint your nails… etc

Feel free to add me on Twitter, I am @readingthisbook.

Read-a-thon update #2

I am now reading Positively by Courtney Sheinmel. Due to the lack of time, I will not be posting any images of the books. It’s great so far.

Synopsis: An unforgettable novel about a girl struggling with HIV, from powerhouse middle-grade author Courtney Sheinmel.

Pages read since last update: 44
Time read since last update: 1h 52m
Minutes Spent Blogging: 20 mins
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging: 40 mins
Total pages read: 207
Total time read: I suck at Math so IDK!

I decided to participate in Bart’s challenge.


The quality sucks because I used my webcam. Sorry guys, camera out of battery. The sentence forms:

Heavenly ash fallen.

Comments appreciated! And now the clock reads 1:57 AM so off to dreamland. Will wake up in a few hours to carry on the read-a-thon!