YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Read-a-thon update #1

It’s pretty amazing how I can juggle eating/reading/cleaning my room all at the simultaneously. My Read-a-thon started off with Love is the Higher Law which I felt was amazing. Over the past year, I have been thinking my life sucks. But I realised those people who lost their dear ones during 9/11 suffered more grief and unhappiness than I did.

I imagined what if one of the man working working at the World Trade Center had a fight with his daughter during 9/11 and he went to work, his daughter went to school. But at school, she hears that the plane hit the first tower. It’s too late for her to apologize. It’s really depressing thinking about how some people might not have gotten the chance to say something to their loved ones and they are gone.

From 6:30 PM (Brisbane time) to 10:04 PM I read Love is the Higher Law as well as YouTubed videos of the plane crashes (I know that doesn’t count but just saying). I do not remember 9/11/01 very clearly unfortunately. But reading this book made me feel as if I was right there experiencing it.

First there is a Before, and then there is an After…

The lives of three teens—Claire, Jasper, and Peter—are altered forever on September 11, 2001. Claire, a high school junior, has to get to her younger brother in his classroom. Jasper, a college sophomore from Brooklyn, wakes to his parents’ frantic calls from Korea, wondering if he’s okay. Peter, a classmate of Claire’s, has to make his way back to school as everything happens around him.

Here are three teens whose intertwining lives are reshaped by this catastrophic event. As each gets to know the other, their moments become wound around each other’s in a way that leads to new understandings, new friendships, and new levels of awareness for the world around them and the people close by.

David Levithan has written a novel of loss and grief, but also one of hope and redemption as his characters slowly learn to move forward in their lives, despite being changed forever.

Pages read: 163
Time spent: 3 hours and 34 mins

Not bad considering how I was multi-tasking.

EDIT 12:47 AM: I edited this post with a synopsis and picture of the book. And here’s my hour 1 meme.

Where are you reading from today?
My humble abode.

3 facts about me …
I am brunette!
I cried when I read Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater.
I always have the impulse to read, resulting to me reading everywhere! Subway, bus, in class (ssh don’t tell my teacher!) and even while buying my lunch!

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?

Six books!

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
Just to finish at least four books.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time?
I’m a first-timer!

Feel free to add me on Twitter, I am @readingthisbook.

Comments on: "Read-a-thon update #1" (10)

  1. Rebecca S. Cox said:

    I think it is great with all you were doing and yes, sometimes life sucks. I think that is what makes life so great when it is great. So today, it is going to be great!!!! Because it is such a great morning here in South Alabama, just the perfect time to grab that cup of coffee and read, read, read!!! So keep up the great reading and enjoy!!! there is someone in Alabama routing for you!!! Rebecca aka CCQDesigns
    the Transcendentalists team!

  2. What a heart heavy sounding book! Here’s hoping you enjoy your readathon experience. 🙂

  3. Wow, you’re off to a quick start this morning. Keep it up!

    Andi -One of the Transcendentalist Cheerleaders!

  4. This sounds like the go-to book if you need a good cry. Thanks for the review, and congratulations on already finishing one book for the read-a-thon!

    • Thanks both for the comments.

      Dreamybee- oh that’s just a mini review. I’ll get my full review done on Monday. In fact, I’ll be spending the next 2-3 days after the read-a-thon to write reviews. No time for long reviews during read-a-thon!XD

  5. Awesome choice! I’ve got this in my TBR as well. Don’t know if I’ll choose it for today (I’m kinda going with where the wind takes me) but I’ve been looking forward to reading it a great deal.

    Looks like you’re making awesome progress today already 🙂

  6. I cried reading SHIVER too. Good luck today!

  7. I cried during Shiver, too!!!!

Leave a Reply

