YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Cass McKenna much prefers ghosts over “breathers.” Ghosts are uncomplicated and dependable, and they know the dirt on everybody…and Cass loves dirt. She’s on a mission to expose the dirty secrets of the poseurs in her school.

But when the vice president of the student council discovers her secret, Cass’s whole scheme hangs in the balance. Tim wants her to help him contact his recently deceased mother, and Cass reluctantly agrees.

As Cass becomes increasingly entwined in Tim’s life, she’s surprised to realize he’s not so bad—and he needs help more desperately than anyone else suspects. Maybe it’s time to give the living another chance….

If you were planning on reading this book I say, read it. NOW. Give Up the Ghost gets my seal of approval. The plot is simple but I like it! The pacing was just right, not too fast, not too slow. The plot was not cliché at all.

Cass is a wonderful narrator, she’s an outcast but she stands up for herself and unlike other MCs in other books, Cass has a backbone! If Cass was real, I would love to be her friend. She reacted exactly like how I thought she would when Tim initially approached her. Cass did not immediately agree and she was doubious of his intentions. Why? Because Cass is at the bottom of the high school food chain, she used to be outgoing and sociable but when her sister Paige died, she lost interest in dressing up and realised that she could talk to ghosts! Resulting to people thinking that she has gone crazy. Whereas Tim is on the top of the food chain, his the student council vice president and popular. It was interesting seeing how their friendship developed and progressed.

I liked how the characters were flawed but by the end of the book, they matured so much. It surprised me that I liked Paige a lot, even though she was a ghost. Her character was very well developed for a secondary character and I would love to read a book written in Paige’s POV! Norris and Bitzy were also likable and I definitely prefer them over Cass’s ex best friend Danielle.

What I really enjoyed about this story was that it was more than just a ghost story you are probably expecting. It talks about the problems teens face today; parents playing favourites, being an outcast, drinking… which were all handled wonderfully. It can be humorous during the most unexpected moments.

Megan Crewe has written a unique delightful novel of a girl and a guy breaking out of the status quo as well as tackling some serious issues. I cannot wait to see what Megan Crewe will write next.

Gold star (4.5/5 stars)

Comments on: "Give Up the Ghost by Megan Crewe" (16)

  1. Sounds interesting, I’ll have to give it a try. Amazing Review!

  2. pepsivanilla said:

    Characters with backbone are the best!
    Love to read about strong characters, esp. after Twilight, which I do like, but it got old, all the crying and such.
    Thanks for the review!

  3. I cannot wait to read this book, heard great reviews about it.

  4. I’ve heard great things, especially that it was different to what people expected in a good way. I’m excited for this one.
    Cass sounds like a great MC. I enjoyed your review.

  5. I’ve read a lot of great reviews. A must read for me.

  6. I thought this was just about ghosts it’s good to know it goes a lot deeper than that. Now I definitely cannot wait to read Give Up The Ghost.

  7. Looks pretty good, nice review😉

  8. Can’t wait for this book!

  9. Great Review, I really need to look for this book.🙂

  10. Nice review. You got me interested in reading this.

  11. Oh my gosh, I LOVED this book so much! Going into it, I thought it was just going to be another ghost story, but after reading I was like, “Wow.” It’s more a story of growing up, maturing, and coming to terms with issues in your past… I can’t wait to read more by Megan Crewe in the future.

    hope.

  12. REALLY want to read this!!!!

  13. I’ve been wanting to read Give Up The Ghost for a while now – I’m happy to say you’ve just made me want to read it even more! I need to hurry up and get a copy😀

  14. Jennifer L said:

    I very much want to read this. *sigh*

  15. <>

    This sentence cracked me up, lol!
    This must be a good book. It’s on my wishlist already, but maybe I can win a copy in some contest?

  16. Thanks for the great review. Im really excited for this book;)

Leave a Reply

