YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Blue Moon by Alyson Noel

Eager to learn everything she can about her new abilities as an Immortal, Ever turns to her beloved Damen to show her the way. But just as her powers are increasing, Damen’s are waning. In an attempt to save him, Ever travels to the magical dimension of Summerland, where she learns the secrets of Damen’s tortured past; a past which he has always kept hidden from her. But in her quest to cure Damen, Ever discovers an ancient text that details the workings of time. Now Ever must chose between turning back the past and saving her family from the accident that claimed their lives—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows sicker every day…

Three words to describe Blue Moon: Oh my God. From the start, Noel did a good job doing a quick recap on the first book. I find that helpful for people like me who forgotten what Evermore is about. Whoops! In Blue Moon, things get complicated and we follow Ever’s journey to uncover what really happened to Damen. For most part of the book, Ever seemed like a strong herione who would save the day (what I was expecting). But what really happened was that Ever made a mistake at the end, leading to a whole new bigger problem. Ladies and gentleman, our protagonist became a weak helpless girl at the end. I am not afraid to say this: I hated the ending.

Do you know the feeling when it’s so plain obvious that the character is falling into a trap and she just falls right into it? I bet you do. Well, I don’t want to spoil the book but I shall just leave that as that for now. Hopefully Ever will redeem herself in Shadowland. If I ignored the ending of the book and focused on 3/4 of the story, I would say that Blue Moon was a chilling sequel to Evermore with suspenseful and romantic elements which will demand you to read this book in one sitting. Though I still prefer Evermore more than Blue Moon. Maybe I set my expectations for Blue Moon too high but I felt that it could have been so much more.

Get ready to be sucked back into Ever’s story with this sequel. I cannot wait to get my hands on Shadowland!

Silver star

Comments on: "Blue Moon by Alyson Noel" (15)

  1. I love Blue Moon. It’s just as good as Evermore. The whole Immortal series so far has been excellent. I’m so excited for Shadowland!! Are you??

  2. pepsivanilla said:

    I haven’t even read Evermore yet! I’m so behind!
    This sounds like a good book though, I’ll have to catch up!

  3. Read the first book, can’t wait to read the second one.

  4. I loved this book,I can’t wait for Shadowland.

  5. I love Evermore Series. Blue Moon surprised me because I really think that Evermore was the best, but I was wrong.
    I can’t wait for Shadowland, I love the cover *-*

  6. I really like Evermore and can’t wait to read Blue Moon but hopefully my expectations for it aren’t too high.

  7. I’m going to be honest…I want to read this book because I’ve seen other bloggers and goodreads people read this, but your little review made me want more!!! Hmmmm…adding it to my “books to check out” journal…NOW!

    Thanks!

  8. I really like this one, in some things I think it was better than Evermore, but in some other stuff it wasnt what I expected, anyway, I think is a great book and I cant wait to read Shadowland

  9. Great review! Maybe I’ll be buying this book after all…

  10. I haven’t gotten around to reading this series yet even though I bought Evermore and its sitting in my bookshelf. I should probably get started on this series seeing as how the third book is coming out soon.

  11. I love this series… I was hesitant to get into the first one because I saw many reviews saying it was just like Twilight. However, it really isn’t… in Evermore. Blue Moon seemed more like New Moon, however, I’m still looking for the third book in the series and to see where Ever’s journey goes.

    hope.

  12. I’m nearly finished with this now. It’s better than Evermore!

  13. I probably shouldn’t have read this review because I haven’t read Evermore yet LOL. But you’ve encouraged me to start this series now, yay!

  14. Jennifer L said:

    I liked Evermore a great deal. I think I’d enjoy this one, too. The third book in the series is coming out soon, too.

  15. By the way guys, Shadowland was awful. I am glad I didn’t run out and buy it the moment it was released.

Leave a Reply

