YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf–her wolf–is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human . . . until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human–or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

I finished this book with tears flowing down my cheeks. I was speechless, I enjoyed this book way more than I expected I would, it surpassed all my expectations. And truthfully, I don’t remember the last time I read something that made me cry. Please applaud to Maggie Stefvater for making me cry because there is an amazing accomplishment because I am sure Maggie did not write this book intending for her readers to cry while reading.

EDIT: Sorry everyone, Nina pointed out my mistake. I Googled and Maggie actually intended for people to cry while reading Shiver. She said ‘With Shiver, I wanted to write a book that would make someone sneak a peek of it in their cubicle, and then mascara would run down their face, and they could shake their fist at the sky and curse me to the heavens.’

At first, I felt that their first kiss came too fast. But the more I read, their love for each other became more realistic. Unknowingly, I was two hundred pages into the book and I wasn’t stopping there. Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is incredible, it flows smoothly and lyrically.

I loved Stiefvater’s fascinating take on the werewolf genre. After reading some books on werewolf, I still wasn’t a fan of them… until now. I felt in love with Sam and the pack except for Shelby. Sam is a sweet thoughtful guy and I immediately fell for him. Grace is a herione that we need to see more of in YA books, she’s unstoppable. She won’t just resent to fate and let Sam be a wolf. Her determination makes her a wonderful character.

As the days pass and time is running out, Grace and Sam try to prevent him from changing back into a wolf. This is his last time he will be human, soon he’ll be a wolf, permanently. Their alternating POVs gives readers a clear insight on their individual struggles they are facing. Some scenes in the book were so well described, for example, I loved reading about the candy shop, I could practically inhale the delicious smell of candy while reading. My heart ached when during the bookstore scene when Sam wanted Grace to notice him. My heart nearly shattered into pieces at the end, thus the tears.

Shiver is a beautiful heart warming tale which will send shivers down your spine. I am satisfied if it’s a standalone but in this case, there are two more books due for this series so we will be getting more of Sam and Grace. This is a book you absolutely have to read.

Maggie Stiefvater sold movie rights for SHIVER so you know what that means. In a few years time you might see SHIVER on the big screen! Comment and discuss who you think would be ideal to play Grace and Sam! And this November, I am going to be having book discussions for SHIVER so please come back then to discuss!

Gold star!

Comments on: "Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater" (23)

  1. The candy shop scene was my favorite scene too! Reading this was so refreshing for me, as I read a lot of paranormal romance and urban fantasy and it’s easy to get burnt out on those genres.

    For the movie, my top choice to play Grace would be Emma Stone, better known as Wichita from Zombieland (and other stuff too.) The jury’s still out on who I’d want to play Sam.

    Excellent review, I’ll definitely be back for book discussions in November!

  2. Wow, amazing review! I so have to buy this book now!!

  3. i loved that book! but you’re kinda wrong! i mean, not about the book, i enjoyed it alot, and also cried. but i mean she wanted to make her readers cry, you obviously don’t know much about what inspired her, so i recommend that you check out her website :)

    • I just Googled what inspired Maggi Stiefvater to write Shiver and I read an interview. Oh my gosh I am so sorry! XD

      Basically here’s what it said:
      What inspired you to write Shiver?

      I would like to say that I was inspired to write Shiver by some overwhelming belief in true love, but here’s my true confession. I wrote Shiver because I like to make people cry. I had just finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger for the second time, and I cried for the second time. I should tell everyone now that I am not a big crier at books. I am kind of a serial career non-crier actually. If you look up ‘schadenfreude’ on Wikipedia, you’ll see a picture of me with a snide smile on my face. And so the fact that this book had made me cry not once but twice, and not just cry but storm around the house doing the seven stages of grief, it really kind of inspired in me this desire to do the same thing to other people. With Shiver, I wanted to write a book that would make someone sneak a peek of it in their cubicle, and then mascara would run down their face, and they could shake their fist at the sky and curse me to the heavens.

      http://bemusedwriter.blogspot.com/2009/08/cool-interview-with-maggie-stiefvater.html

      Sorry Maggie!

  4. pepsivanilla said:

    This book sounds so awesome! I’ve been wanting to read it :)
    Thanks for the review!

  5. I read this book and LOVED it, can’t wait for the next one.

  6. Great review. Maggie did a fantastic job with this book.I love her writing style.

  7. Great review. I have this one to read. I think I may start it soon- although I’m not a fan of crying.

  8. I’ve been unsure about wanting to read this book because I’m not a huge fan of werewolves but I’ve been reading such rave reviews for it. I think now I will definitely look at this book.

  9. Oh no…you cried??? I didn’t know this book was meant to make people cry. *sigh* I have the book on my desk waiting to be read and now I will have to have tissues near by, too!!!

  10. Wow, I’ve seen this book everywhere in the blogosphere and glanced at summaries and reviews, but I’ve never read one that really sucked me in like your’s did. I honestly enjoyed this review. Oh and it does sound like a refreshing twist on the werewolf genre. This has been on my TBR out of sheer curiousity but now I’m really anxious to read it!

    BTW, the last book that made me cry was The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams. Have you read it?

  11. All Ive read bout this book is that is great, I want to read it, Great Review ;)

  12. It’s gonna be made into a movie? I can’t wait!

  13. Great review. I cried when I read this book too. I can’t wait till the second book comes out and also have to get Maggie’s other books as well.

  14. Wonderful review! I adored this book, it was so beautiful. Their relationship was just <3. Sam is the sweetest thing ever! I agree with you about the candy shop scene, I loved that. Oh gosh, you make me want to re-read now!

    I'm so happy the movie rights were sold. I want to see this on the big screen!

  15. OH MY GOSH I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK SO BAD. It looks so great and I’ve seen many great reviews about it. =)

    hope.

  16. Jennifer L said:

    Heh. I picked this up at ALA, too (also her other book, Lament). Haven’t read this yet, either. There need to be more hours in the day for reading.

  17. I’m reading this, too. LOVING it so far. Really, Maggie wanted readers to cry and curse her to high heavens? Lol.

  18. Im sooo gonna get this book! Thanks for the wonderful review;)

  19. I agree. I agree. I agree.

    Sam and Grace were so easy to fall in love with. One part i felt was rushed was when they ‘sealed the deal.’ I read right past it (Shiver was a fast read like that) and had to back up to make sure it was what it was. After I had caught it I realized I appreciate the lack of emphasis on it because I like to recommend books to my 16 yo sister.

    I agree, maggie’s writing is filled with passion and she most certainly has her own voice.

    I will read anything she writes even her grocery list!

  20. I didn’t know she had sold the rights – yay! Most trilogy books leave such unanswered endings. Shiver didn’t do that. If I never finished the trilogy I would be satisfied that Grace and Sam had their happily ever after.

  21. I loved Shiver, it was such a beautiful story. My favorite thing about it was the characters; Sam was the sweetest guy I think I’ve read, and Grace was just lovely. I really liked that she could stand on her own two feet without Sam, while still loving him so completely. It was as close to perfect as you can get.

  22. It’s time to toss oneself into some complete human body cross-training workouts and to ditch the yoga. But, the selling prices have declined considering that then and are averaging at hundred and twenty 5 thousand kilos.
    how to lose 30 pounds, lose 30 pounds in a month, lose 15 pounds fast
    Need To Have A Fantastic Quick Technique For You To Shed Lbs .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

