YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Killer by Sara Shepard

CAUTION: This review contains spoilers if you have not read the previous books in the series.
In picture-perfect Rosewood, Pennsylvania, ash-blond highlights gleam in the winter sun and frozen lakes sparkle like Swarovski crystals. But pictures often lie— and so do Rosewood’s four prettiest girls.
Hanna, Aria, Spencer, and Emily have been lying ever since they became friends with beautiful Alison DiLaurentis. Ali made them do terrible things—things they had to keep secret for years. And even though Ali was killed at the end of seventh grade, their bad-girl ways didn’t die with her.
Hanna’s on a mission to corrupt Rosewood’s youth, starting with a very attractive sophomore. Aria’s snooping into her boyfriend’s past. Spencer’s stealing— from her family. And pure little Emily’s abstaining from abstinence.
The girls should be careful, though. They thought they were safe when Ali’s killer was arrested and A’s true identity was finally revealed. But now there’s a new A in town turning up the heat. And this time Rosewood is going to burn.

Hmm, how do I describe this book? I would say it was good but I was not really really in love with it. Firstly, the idea of a new A was just weird and it’s like to make the series last longer. I would prefer if Sara did another book series with totally new characters. Moving on, the story picks up from where it left off in Wicked. Aria, Spencer, Hanna, Emily all have their own secrets and problems. In this book, I think my fave character would be Emily. I do not want to give away anything but I genuinely felt sorry for her. She’s the only character I can identify with. Her emotions were also well executed. The rest of the characters were just okay. I found Hanna so whiny, Spencer and Aria to be naive.

In Killer, the new A did not torment the girls as much as the previous books and her messages are really hard to decipher. Hanna changed her phone so A has yet to be able to contact her. Still, the girls seem to see a person with blond hair everywhere so readers get chilling feeling that A is there, watching.

As usual the climax of the book is usually towards the end and this time round, the ending left my jaw wide open and my mind filled with questions. Believe me, you would not see the ending coming! If I am not wrong the release date for Heartless (Pretty Little Liars, #7) has been pushed forward to THIS YEAR November 2009! I can’t wait!

Fans of PPL: Killer was an enjoyable read but to me it is not Sara’s best book in the series but it definitely shows a very interesting development and you won’t want to skip this book because there is a very big revelation at the end.

Silver star

Comments on: "Killer by Sara Shepard" (9)

  1. Hi, Not sure if you would be interested but I am hosting a Pretty Little Liars Challenge on my blog. There are two prizes. One winner will win the whole series and another winner will win the first 4 books signed by the author. If you have any questions please e-mail me at lovestoread0708 at yahoo dot com .. 🙂

  2. I’ve read the first three books then stopped. I really love the series, I just needed a break from it. I’ll have to catch up. BTW, Great review.

  3. Haven’t read it, but sounds great!

  4. I haven’t read any of the series yet but I definitely will at some point.

  5. Haven’t heard of the series, but your review got me interested!

  6. Nice review. I’ve seen the series around but haven’t read it yet.

  7. This is one of my favorite series! I’m a little bit behind this one though… I still need to read the one before this lol. I can’t wait until I can get a chance to read it though!

    hope.

  8. I have a bad habit of reading on even when there’s a warning of spoilers, yet I haven’t read the previous books *slaps self*. Although, I hadn’t heard of this series before and now I’m all intrigued so that’s gotta be a good thing! 😀

  9. omg, i love the series i always get the books like right when they come out and then i read them in almost a day sometimes two, i CANNOT wait until the next one comes out, this one was great because it makes you keep wondering again which i love!! if the book ended at book six i would prolly die!! i cannot live without them i love these books soo much,
    nice review,
    love from seattle
    xx

Leave a Reply

