YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Tamsin Greene comes from a long line of witches, and she was supposed to be one of the most Talented among them. But Tamsin’s magic never showed up. Now seventeen, Tamsin attends boarding school in Manhattan, far from her family. But when a handsome young professor mistakes her for her very Talented sister, Tamsin agrees to find a lost family heirloom for him. The search—and the stranger—will prove to be more sinister than they first appeared, ultimately sending Tamsin on a treasure hunt through time that will unlock the secret of her true identity, unearth the sins of her family, and unleash a power so vengeful that it could destroy them all. This is a spellbinding display of storytelling that will exhilarate, enthrall, and thoroughly enchant.

Reading Once a Witch was an enjoyable experience. Oh wait, I want to gush about how much I love the cover. The cover creates a mysterious atmosphere and I’m sure y’all agree with me that it’s fantastic. Once a Witch is a fresh take on a genre that is not widely covered in YA. Having not read many books on witchcraft, I was eager to read about Tamsin’s world. I loved learning about Tamsin’s family and their powers. However I found that the story started off a teeny bit too slow, but maybe that’s just me. Things sped up once Tamsin goes to hunt for lost family heirloom. I like how Once a Witch was set in different places, the city, Tamsin’s house and some *cough* different time periods. It will draw readers into the captivating world of witchcraft and magic.

Tamsin is such a great protagonist who readers can identify easily with. She’s the only one in her family without a Talent so she feels left out. I could feel Tamsin’s frustration strongly and so she totally won me over from the start.

Tamsin’s love interest would be Gabriel. Adding romance was a great touch to the book. However, there are some parts of the books which appeared rushed to me. I wanted to see more interaction between Gabriel and Tamsin, and perhaps more development in their romance.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this book. I read Once a Witch in one sitting and it was certaintly an entertaining read. However the ending was not very satisfying as it was a little aburpt. The ending also hints that there might be a sequel. Overall, a great novel by Carolyn MacCullough. Once a Witch was released on September 14. Get it now on Amazon!

Silver star

Comments on: "Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough" (15)

  1. I’ve heard some good things about this book. I’ll need to pick it up at some point.

    And, you have an award at my blog.

    http://owlforya.blogspot.com/2009/10/won-award.html

  2. It sounds good! I’d love to read this one, and I agree with your view on the cover!

  3. I’ve seen this book around a lot. Whenever I go into the book store I run into this book. Even though I really want to read it, I never buy it. But I think I will one of these days. BTW, Great review.

  4. What a cute book, I would love to read it soon.

  5. I’ve read mixed reviews for this book.But I still want to read it,sounds like something I would like.

  6. I enjoy books with witchcraft in them- I think I would like Tamsin (plus I really like that name) I don’t think iv’e come cross it in novels.
    Thanks for the review

  7. I have this on hold at my library. Now I cannot wait to read this book even more now.

  8. I’ve heard amazing things about this book and I so want to read it. The main character seems awesome and I think I’ll find a way to relate to her…those are always the best!!!

  9. I’ve read mixed reviews about this book but still interested in reading it as the story sounds interesting to me.

  10. This sounds really good… I’ve seen mostly pretty good reviews about it. I’ll have to check it out sometime soon! =)

    hope.

  11. I’m really enjoying reading your reviews – they’re well written and nicely balanced! I totally agree with you on the cover, I love it! I’ve been wanting to read Once A Witch. I haven’t really read any books on witchcraft so I’m definitely intrigued by this.

  12. Jennifer L said:

    Again, got a free copy of this at ALA. Looks cool. Haven’t read it yet. *sigh*

  13. This is on my wishlist, too. Sounds like a great book. Reading your review reminded me a bit of the Sweep series by Cate Tiernan, which I’m reading (well, I’ve read only the first two books so far) and enjoying quite a bit.

  14. This one is on my TBR list.Im very excited to read it:)

  15. REESE FORMOLO said:

    LOVE THIS BOOK!! BEST BOOK I E-V-E-R READ!!!!! THE BEGINING IS A LITTLE SLOW BUT THEN IT GET S-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O GOOD THAT ITS HARD TO RESIST!!!!!

Leave a Reply

