YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

Forget everything you ever knew about unicorns…

The sparkly, innocent creatures of lore are a myth. Real unicorns are venomous, man-eating monsters with huge fangs and razor-sharp horns. And they can only be killed by virgin descendants of Alexander the Great.

Fortunately, unicorns have been extinct for a hundred and fifty years.

Or not.

Astrid Llewelyn has always scoffed at her eccentric mother’s stories about killer unicorns. But when one of the monsters attacks her boyfriend in the woods — thereby ruining any chance of him taking her to prom — Astrid learns that unicorns are real and dangerous, and she has a family legacy to uphold. Her mother packs her off to Rome to train as a unicorn hunter at the ancient cloisters the hunters have used for centuries.

However, at the cloisters, all is not what it seems. Outside, the unicorns wait to attack. And within, Astrid faces other, unexpected threats: from crumbling, bone-covered walls that vibrate with a terrible power to the hidden agendas of her fellow hunters to — perhaps most dangerously of all — her growing attraction to a handsome art student… and a relationship that could jeopardize everything.

Wow! I could not put down this book and despite the fact that I was rather unwell when I read it. From the first chapter, you’d be enchanted by the world of killer unicorns. Rampant possesses a nice mixture of romance, action and adventure. Detailed gruesome battles, heart-pounding action, vivid desciptions of unicorns and fantastic dialogue. It’s no question that Diana Peterfreund is an amazingly talented writer.

Moving on, the unicorn hunters. I pretty much liked everyone except for Grace and Melissende. Both their characters were annoying and frustrated me. Only towards the end when they started to get less annoying. I liked the idea of the unicorns hunters from all over the globe, making the book more multi-cultural. Phil, Astrid’s cousin, was a delightful character with a bubbly personality and instantly likeable. Her snarky comments adds humour to the book.

Though this book is about unicorn hunting, Astrid does not hunt them 24/7 she does have some fun too occasionally. So yes, they do have a little sightseeing in Rome. I liked how there was a good balance of everything. Towards the ending there is a surprising turn of events which will probably surprise readers or they could have guessed it, like me. Astrid’s mom was tolerable at first despite the fact that I disliked her thoughtlessness for her daughter’s feelings. But she became nutty and I lost it. Any ounce sympathy for her was gone. I was so angry about the fact that she was such an irresponsible mother. Readers will eagerly devour Rampant as Astrid fights unicorns and have them at the edge of their seats.

It is highly recommended and this review does not do justice to the book. You will probably enjoy Rampant if you liked The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins as they both have killing scenes except in Rampant, the characters kill unicorns.

Gold star!

Comments on: "Rampant by Diana Peterfreund" (13)

  1. Oh, glad you enjoyed it! 😀 I have this one on my pile, I can’t wait to get to it!

  2. This looks interesting, I so want to read it. Thanks for reviewing it.

  3. What a great review! Good Job!

  4. The premise alone is new and amazing for me.
    Very anxious to read this one.

  5. Great review. I’m reading Rampant at the moment but am only on chapter three. So far it is really good.

  6. Killer Unicorns…sounds amazing! I will HAVE to read this book. I’ve been waiting for it to come out. I cannot wait to read it!!!

  7. Hmmm…..adding this to my TBR even though it’s not my usual cup of tea…sounds like you enjoyed it and I’ve read the same from others, so it couldn’t hurt to try it out! ;]

  8. I’m glad you liked it so much. I read it and loved it as well.

  9. This premise is very good for this book and I’ve seen only good reviews for it. I’ve also wanted to check out a book by this author for a while, so I hope I can read this one soon.

    hope.

  10. Can I just say, the idea of killer unicorns = so cool! Okay, I love pretty, innocent unicorns but it’s nice to read a fresh take on things. I read a review of this a while ago and it got me hooked, so want to read this! And now the more I hear about it, the greater it sounds. Plus, I LOVED The Hunger Games. Not to mention you wrote “Rome” – yeah, just that word sold me. *is in love with Italy* 😀

  11. Jennifer L said:

    …I didn’t get this at ALA. Now I need to go get it from Amazon, because the concept is awesome!

  12. On my TBR list, too. I love the original twist on unicorns.

  13. Yowza! Great review! I hadnt heard of this one before!

Leave a Reply

