YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games.” The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When Kat’s sister is chosen by lottery, Kat steps up to go in her place.

Oh the irony, while everyone is reviewing Catching Fire, here I am reviewing The Hunger Games.

I picked up this book at the library out of curiousity after hearing many good things about it. It took me some time to get riled up but once I got pass the first three chapters BAM! I was sucked into the story. I returned the book to the library and bought my own copy. I had high expectations for Hunger Games and I would say most of them were met. The pace was steady and there is a build up of suspense. The storyline was extremely well crafted. Katniss is a strong, skillful and clever character which makes her a compelling narrator. She is concerned for the welfare of her loved ones and is a very sensible person. And of course there’s also a love triangle. Cute but I felt that I knew too little about Gale thus I had a hard time choosing between Peeta and Gale.

Readers are told about how dangerous the Hunger Games are, making them aware of how deadly the Games are. Reading this book made me feel as though I was right there, fighting to stay alive. Can you imagine how intense this book was?

At the end you cannot help but find yourself wanting to know what happens to Peeta, Katniss and Gale. There is no doubt about this book being a bestseller. The highly anticipated sequel Catching Fire is in stores now and Suzanne is working on the 3rd book for the trilogy. A truly remarkable read.

Mini rant: This has nothing to do with the book so ignore this if you want. The Hunger Games has been getting a lot of hype here but it concerned me that it was only boys reading it! I saw two different boys purchasing The Hunger Games at different times but it struck me that it was only boys that seem to be reading it. I’m speechless. I know teens in USA, both guys and girls alike, enjoyed the novel. But why is it so few girls know about this book? That frustrates me, a lot. But hopefully once The Hunger Games movie is out, everyone will start reading this fab book.

Gold star!
On top of a gold star, this book falls into a special new category “absolutely HAVE TO READ”. Yes, only the best books are listed here so books listed in this category are very highly recommended by me and absolute have to buy.

DON’T FORGET TO ENTER MY CONTEST TO WIN AN ARC OF DARKLIGHT!

Comments on: "The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins" (18)

  1. Interesting that girls are less inclined to read it there. I mean, I get it on some level given the story and all, but I would think that since it centralizes around a strong girl some would be more interested. The series is phenomenal and I certainly hope more latch on to it. Can’t wait to see what you think of Catching Fire….if you can believe it I think it was even better than The Hunger Games. 🙂

  2. this book was amazing to read not only about this young girl named katniss but about all the things that happen in the future that suzanne collins wrote and how she describes everything. When I checked it out at the library I didn’t want to turn it in so i kept renewing it until i couldn’t anymore.I could never forget this wonderful book! 😦

  3. I’m currently trying to get pass chapter 2 on this. I’ll trust your word on this. I’ve heard many good reviews about this book too. Great review.

  4. What a great review! Good Job!

  5. I LOOOOOOVE this series! Good review!

  6. I still haven’t read this book.Great review,makes me want to read it even sooner.

  7. I love love hunger games and completely agree.

  8. This is one of the books that I keep wondering if I should read or not. I’ve read so many rave reviews about it but I still wonder if I should bother. I think the only way to solve this would be for me to just pick it up and read it.

  9. I haven’t picked this one out yet (I think I’m waiting for paperback). Although, I’m not sure if I’m strong enough to wait. Hmmmmm….decisions. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I too have heard great things about this and I may be convinced to get it soon *sigh*

  10. Totally agree with you, this book is totally totally awesome, I really like it, is great!!

  11. I’ve heard such amazing things about this book and I’m sad to say I still haven’t read it yet. I requested it from my library and I’m just waiting till its my turn.

  12. The Hunger Games is amazing – I couldn’t put it down. I tried to take breaks at the end of the chapters but the way the majority of them end, you physically cannot stop reading! I recently read Catching Fire and wow, who knew the sequel could be just as brilliant? If not better! I need the third book – NOW.

    Great review!

  13. Everyone keeps saying that this is a must read and I still need to read it. I’ve actually started it a few times before, but it just hasn’t gotten that exciting for me yet… I’m going to pick it up again sometime soon to see if I can get into it this time. =)

    hope.

  14. Jennifer L said:

    I won a copy of this through LibraryThing, and got an ARC of Catching Fire at ALA.

    …needless to say, I haven’t read either of them yet. Woe!

  15. Wow, this in an “absolutely have to read” book? I’d better bunch it up a few positions on my TBR pile, then.

  16. Nice review! The Hunger Games really is great! I loved it and imdeff Team Peeta haha

  17. Been wanting to read this because Stephenie Meyer liked it and suggested to read it. I remember her posting about it on her site.

Leave a Reply

