YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Sea Change by Aimee Friedman

16-year-old Miranda Merchant is great at science…and not so great with boys. After major drama with her boyfriend and (now ex) best friend, she’s happy to spend the summer on small, mysterious Selkie Island, helping her mother sort out her late grandmother’s estate.

There, Miranda finds new friends and an island with a mysterious, mystical history, presenting her with facts her logical, scientific mind can’t make sense of. She also meets Leo, who challenges everything she thought she knew about boys, friendship…and reality.

Is Leo hiding something? Or is he something that she never could have imagined?

Sea Change is my sixth book by Aimee Friedman. I have always enjoyed her novels and Sea Change was no exception. Sea Change is set in the mysterious Selkie Island where Miranda’s mother grew up in. The landscape is expressed with vivid imagery and mixed together with the background of the island, made me feel as if I was right there. The story starts off slowly but there is a build up of suspense. Miranda is a logical person, she believes that there is a scientific explanation for everything. One day she meets Leo who is a genuinely nice guy who likes her not because of her roots or where she lives. As the days pass, Miranda can’t help falling for him. However, I think that with more interaction between the characters, their love for each other might have been more convincing.

There are also Miranda’s summer friends who are cliche, making me simply not care about them. Miranda’s mother’s sudden behaviour change was too fast to be believable. It made me frustrated because I did not understand her.

Readers will caught up in the intrigue Miranda questions everything she knows as she digs deeper into the history of the island and her family. I loved reading about the merfolk and other mythological creatures that are said to inhabit the island.

While I found the story slightly predictable, I still enjoyed it. The conclusion was satisfactory as if things were explained, readers might not get the postive happy ending they were hoping for. It gives us hope for Miranda and Leo, and hopefully, Aimee Friedman would write a companion to this novel which will tie up loose ends.

Sea Change is a beautiful love story with an air of mystery. It was a fun memorable summer read.

Silver Star (3.5/5 stars)

Comments on: "Sea Change by Aimee Friedman" (15)

  1. This sounds like a nice read. Sometimes predictable stories are a great way to relax into a book, so I might look for this one eventually. Great review!

  2. sara drummond said:

    oh it is nor predictable at all!BELIVE ME I READ IT LAST NIGHT and it wasn’t like so complicaded but a nice love history i love it ,,, i want to know if there ‘s a secong book about it .. i think there should be a 2cond part!

  3. Heard wonders about this, great review.

  4. Sounds good,I’ve added it to my TBR list

  5. I like the idea of merfolk selkie but I don’t know if I’d enjoy them in a story. I’ll keep an eye out for this one.

  6. Hmmm Summer is coming up soon and I’ve been looking for some summer reads. I may just pick this one up for over the summer.

  7. Wow you’ve read a lot of books by her.

    This doesn’t really sound like something I would enjoy, but what I will do is write her name down and try one of her other books first, maybe one that interests me more. If I enjoy her writing I’ll give this a shot. I’ve seen other bloggers reading it also.

    Once again, thanks for the great review.

  8. Nice review. This book sounds good so I might check it out.

  9. This story was pretty predictable, however I still loved it — I read it on a vacation when you want to read those books that you don’t have to think too much about. =)

    hope.

  10. What can I say, I’m a sucker for any romances. But especially those that have a supernatural/mythological creatures in it 🙂 I haven’t read any of Aimee Friedman’s books… think I’ll have to start- and with this one, for sure!

  11. Jennifer L said:

    This looks cool. Selkies, yay!

  12. I’ve been wanting to read this ever since I heard it was coming out. Lovely cover, too. which can’t hurt.

  13. Nice review-this book is on my wishlist and im soo excited to read it. I absolutely LOVE the cover ❤

  14. I’ve been wanting to read this book even before it was published. I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I really want to because it reminds me of another fav book of mine Seven Tears Into The Sea by Terri Farley. My gosh, I read that book twice it was so good.

  15. OMG OMG OMG!!!! I seriously wanna read those book!!! I can’t wait until I save enough for the book!!!! ♡♡♥♥

Leave a Reply

