YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (24)

Hi everyone once again it’s In My Mailbox! In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren and she was inspired by Alea.


This week I bought:
Dream Factory by Brad Barkley and Heather Hepler (to give away to Book Transfusion!)
When the character actors at Disney World go on strike, the teens hired as replacements learn that it isn’t exactly the Happiest Place on Earth. Ella gets to be Cinderella, simply because the shoe fits. It should be a dream come true, but Ella no longer believes in dreams. Luke is a fur character, Dale the chipmunk. Chip is played by his girlfriend, Cassie, who is perfect in every way. Why, then, does Luke find himself more drawn to imperfect things like the theme park’s Phantom? A team-building scavenger hunt brings Luke and Ella together. As they uncover the Magic Kingdom’s treasures, they discover an undeniable magic between them.

The Dating Game by Natalie Standiford
Meet Madison, Holly, and Lina, the stars of this smart, sexy new series. When The Dating Game web site they create for a sophomore class project is a smash hit, they become the matchmaking masters of their schooland, they hope, their own lives.

Borrowed:
Sea Change by Aimee Friedman
16-year-old Miranda Merchant is great at science…and not so great with boys. After major drama with her boyfriend and (now ex) best friend, she’s happy to spend the summer on small, mysterious Selkie Island, helping her mother sort out her late grandmother’s estate.
There, Miranda finds new friends and an island with a mysterious, mystical history, presenting her with facts her logical, scientific mind can’t make sense of. She also meets Leo, who challenges everything she thought she knew about boys, friendship…and reality.
Is Leo hiding something? Or is he something that she never could have imagined?
Read my review of Sea Change!

My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent
She doesn’t see dead people, but…
She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.
Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next…

I tell myself that it is a good thing I don’t have too many books each week as I have to study. I admit, I’m a slacker, my homework is always not done. Whoops!

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (24)" (9)

  1. Great haul this week! I need to read My Soul to Take, which has an awesome cover. Enjoy your books!

  2. Nice books! I love the cover for My Soul To Take, it’s so pretty!

  3. A great stash of books. I really enjoy My Soul to Take and I cannot wait to see what you think about it.

    Enjoy your reads 🙂

  4. I took need to read My Soul To Take. Great choices.

  5. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    Ooh these books look so good. Enjoy!!

  6. I liked The Dating Game! Enjoy 🙂

  7. readwhatyouknow said:

    Loved “Sea Change.” I’ve seen “Dream Factory” on my library’s shelf a lot, but I’ve never picked up it. I think I will now!

    Happy reading!

  8. Great books. They all sound really really good. I have My Soul To Take on my shelf ready to be read. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

  9. Ooh, I want My Soul to Take! Enjoy your books!

Leave a Reply

