YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Ever since Viola’s boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a young genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes.

Jinn is anxious to return home, but Viola is terrified of wishing, afraid she will not wish for the right thing, the thing that will make her truly happy. As the two spend time together, the lines between master and servant begin to blur, and soon Jinn can’t deny that he’s falling for Viola. But it’s only after Viola makes her first wish that she realizes she’s in love with Jinn as well . . . and that if she wishes twice more, he will disappear from her life—and her world—forever.

Jackson Pearce spins a magical tale about star-crossed lovers, what it means to belong . . . and how important it is to be careful what you wish for.

I had high hopes for As You Wish and I can safely say that Jackson Pearce did not disappoint.

As You Wish is told in alternating chapters between Viola and Jinn. Jinn by the way is the name Viola calls him but he is really a jinn and has no name. Jackson Pearce kept me hooked onto As You Wish from the first page. Viola has this fresh honest voice which I love. Her thoughts and feelings were evident and heartfelt. Reading the book in Jinn’s POV gave me a good idea on how he was feeling and his intentions.

Character development for both Jinn and Lawrence were exceptionally good. The time the three of them spent together were the best moments in the book. Jackson Pearce did an marvelous job weaving the story together and capturing the emotions perfectly. The story was witty and very very funny. Fantastic characters.

The ending was good, not too cliche. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot but overall, it was a memorable sweet book which I definitely recommend to everyone.

I look forward to reading Jackson Pearce’s future books. As You Wish is the type of book that stays in your head for a long time after reading it. I simply loved it!

As You Wish comes out today. Get it now on Amazon or wherever books are sold.

Gold star!

Comments on: "As You Wish by Jackson Pearce" (13)

  1. This sounds brilliant. I really want to read it! Thanks for the great review!

  2. Ahh I’ve seen many people review this!! It looks so interesting, I really want to read it.

  3. The characters name is really cute, great review!

  4. great review. Another book to be added to my list 🙂

  5. I should be getting As you wish very soon and can’t wait.

  6. Great review. As You Wish sounds like a good book to read.

  7. I haven’t read any reviews for this book yet and I’ve been considering picking this book up. I now know I will…thanks for this great review!!!

  8. As You Wish sounds like a good one & it’s on my TBR list.

  9. I’ve seen many great reviews for this book and I love the author’s YouTube videos… this is definitely on my TBR list, and I hope my library has this book!

    hope.

  10. Aww, I want to read this! I love that it’s told from both the male and female’s perspectives. I love that in books, especially when the characters embark on a relationship, because you get to see both sides of the journey <3. Definitely on my to read list 🙂

  11. Nice review, the book sounds interesting and seems like a very light read.

  12. Jennifer L said:

    Well, genies haven’t been done much yet. This sounds very intriguing, and I’m glad it’s the first in a series of at least three.

  13. I think I’d enjoy this. I don’t know why, but I find the girl on the cover to look remarkably like the main character in The Secret Life of the American Teenager Tv show. (sorry for the totally random comment, lol.)

Leave a Reply

