YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (8)

Waiting on Wednesday (8) the faery edition.


Magic Under Glass by Jackie Dolamore
Release date: February 1st 2010 by Bloomsbury
Synopsis:

Nimira is a music-hall girl used to dancing for pennies. So when wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to sing accompaniment to a mysterious piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it will be the start of a better life. In Parry’s world, long-buried secrets are about to stir. Unsettling rumors begin to swirl about ghosts, a madwoman roaming the halls, and Parry’s involvement in a group of corrupt sorcerers for whom the rules of the living and dead are meant to be broken for greater power. When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing fairy gentleman is trapped within the automaton, she is determined to break the curse. But even as the two fall into a love that seems hopeless, breaking the curse becomes a perilous race against time. Because it’s not just the future of these star-crossed lovers that’s at stake, but the fate of the entire magical world.

I was dazzled by the gorgeous UK cover that I had to WoW this book this week. Which cover do you prefer? US or UK?


Darklight by Lesley Livingston
Release date: December 22nd 2009 by HarperTeen
Synopsis:

Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom…or part them forever.

The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black.

Yet another faery book with a gorgeous cover! Not a lot of people heard of Wonderous Strange until they saw the cover for the sequel. I read it back and 2008 and it was amazing. 🙂 I interviewed Lesley a long long time ago and she promised a ARC for DARKLIGHT so stay tuned! I plan to give it away sometime between late August and early September.


Wayfarer (US title)/ Rebel (UK title) by R.J. Anderson
Release date: January 7th 2010 by Orchard Books (for the UK edition, IDK about US)
Synopsis: I can’t find any synopsis but if you do know where I can find it, let me know!


The Enchanted Quest (Faerie Path, #5) by Frewin Jones
Release date: January 26th 2010 by HarperTeen
Synopsis:

A terrible illness is sweeping through the Faerie Realm. Now, with a strange spirit guiding her, Tania must search outside the borders of Faerie—the dark and magical worlds beyond—for the only one who can help her renew the Faerie Covenant of Immortality.

True love is tested, bonds are betrayed, and the Dark Arts lurk behind every bend in this exciting new book in the series. Teen fairy books are more popular than ever, and the Faerie Path series is perfect for readers who are looking for action, romance, and adventure.

I have not tried this series yet but it sounds good!

[no cover available yet]
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
Release date: February 2010 by Harlequin Teen
Synopsis:

Meghan Chase has never fit in at her small-town high school, and now, on the eve of her 16th birthday, she discovers why. When her half brother is kidnapped, Meghan is drawn into a fantastical world she never imagined–the world of Faery, where anything you see may try to eat you, and Meghan is the daughter of the summer faery king. Now she will journey into the depths of Faery to face an unknown enemy . . . and beg the help of a winter prince who might as soon kill her as let her touch his icy heart. The Iron King is the first book in the Iron Fey series.

Julie’s book sounds awesome! I will definitely be looking out for it.

[no cover available yet]
Radiant Shadows (Wicked Lovely, #4) by Melissa Marr
Release date: April 20th 2010 by HarperTeen
Synopsis:

Hunger for nourishment.
Hunger for touch.
Hunger to belong.

Half-human and half-faery, Ani is driven by her hungers.
Those same appetites also attract powerful enemies and uncertain allies, including Devlin. He was created as an assassin and is brother to the faeries’ coolly logical High Queen and to her chaotic twin, the embodiment of War. Devlin wants to keep Ani safe from his sisters, knowing that if he fails, he will be the instrument of Ani’s death.

Ani isn’t one to be guarded while others fight battles for her, though. She has the courage to protect herself and the ability to alter Devlin’s plans—and his life. The two are drawn together, each with reason to fear the other and to fear for one another. But as they grow closer, a larger threat imperils the whole of Faerie. Will saving the faery realm mean losing each other?

Alluring romance, heart-stopping danger, and sinister intrigue combine in Melissa Marr’s next volume of Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series.

I can practically hear fans of Melissa Marr screaming right now. 😉 Though I’m not terribly fond of Wicked Lovely, Radient Shadows sounds fascinating.

Who else is excited for these books as much as I am? Did I miss out any faery books that will be released in late ’09/early 2010? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

Comments on: "Waiting on Wednesday (8)" (2)

  1. I don’t read a lot of fairy books (FAIRY TALE and ARTEMIS FOWL are about it) but I do like the sounds of MAGIC UNDER GLASS and THE IRON KING.

  2. Just wanted to thank Maria from the Wicked Lovely forum for linking to my post. 🙂 And hi to all Melissa Marr fans. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: