YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Los Angeles is all about the sweet life: hot clubs, cute guys, designer . . . everything. Nineteen-year-old Jane Roberts can’t wait to start living it up. She may be in L.A. for an internship, but Jane plans to play as hard as she works, and has enlisted her BFF Scarlett to join in the fun.

When Jane and Scarlett are approached by a producer who wants them to be on his new series, a “reality version of Sex and the City,” they can hardly believe their luck. Their own show? Yes, please!

Soon Jane is TV’s hottest star. Fame brings more than she ever imagined possible for a girl from Santa Barbara—free designer clothes, the choicest tables at the most exclusive clubs, invites to Hollywood premieres—and she’s lapping up the VIP treatment with her eclectic entourage of new pals. But those same friends who are always up for a wild night are also out for a piece of Jane’s spotlight.

In a city filled with people chasing after their dreams, it’s not long before Jane wakes up to the reality that everyone wants something from her, and nothing is what it seems to be.

L.A. Candy is a deliciously entertaining novel about what it’s like to come of age in Hollywood while starring in a reality TV show, written by a girl who has experienced it all firsthand: Lauren Conrad.

I decided to read Lauren’s book as I have seen so many people compare it to the TV show The Hills. Confession time, I don’t watch The Hills and I don’t even remember watching it. So here is my review from someone who does not watch The Hills!

The title sounds cheesy to be honest but whatever. Let’s be blunt here, I was not impressed by Lauren’s writing. It’s something even I can write. It does not flow fluidly but still readable.

Jane is the main character but her character is totally two-dimentional. Somehow her feelings are always not longer then two sentences. Scarlett’s character is inconsistent. In the beginning she seems like a flirty girl who hooks up with random guys as the first chapter we are told that Jane woke up to find one of Scarlett’s guys on her bed. It gave me the impression that Scarlett was slutty. But as the story progressed, apparently Scarlett is studious and she doesn’t seem to like any member of the opposite sex or anyone for that matter (except Jane). And there are only two/three references to her thinking about the camera guy being “cute”.

Now, I really hate it when there is a new character introduced and after a few pages, he complete disappears from the book and pops up a few chapters later. This is what happened with Diego. It really frustrates me, this book is like a play, a character comes in, delivers their lines, exit, returns when it’s their scene again. It’s so boring! Well there are some pretty trashy scenes but I saw it coming. Which book is not complete without a scandal?

Ha! The biggest thing I disliked about the book was the abuprt ending. Way to go Lauren. For those of you who are wondering, she is writing a sequel and probably a third book but that is still not the way to end a book. Look at Meg Cabot’s Airhead for instance. It has a sequel yet the ending wasn’t abuprt and I throughly enjoyed Airhead.

Let me tell you now if you are planning to buy the book that L.A. Candy was predictable. So predictable to the extend that I could predict the entire story. It has a similar plot to other Hollywood and glamour book I’ve read (Secrets of my Hollywood Life series). But compared to Jen Calonita’s series, I very much prefer Jen’s. It’s not as cliche and at least her characters have more thought processes.

Overall, L.A. Candy was a good attempt but not good enough for me. But I admit that I will be reading her sequel, Sweet Little Lies, I want to know what happens. L.A. Candy was a fast-paced light read but there is nothing special about it. So save your money and buy something much more worth it. Get L.A. Candy from the library instead.

Looking at my review now, my 3 star rating on GoodReads seems too high.

Bronze star

Comments on: "L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad" (13)

  1. Omg i just finished reading the book today and im not happy at all
    due to the ending i expected jane and braden to hook up and date but no….
    madison took jane away to mexico…
    ill just have to wait until the 2nd book comes out in feb

  2. Okay in my opinion this book is amazing! I would like to say good job to Lauren because many girls in my school are reading it. Also Lauren Conrad’s dream wasn’t to be a author it was to be a actress. Okay lets cut it short this review was terrible all you did was complain. If you didn’t like this book read The Gosple According to Larry youo’ll like that one dull and boring.

    • Sorry if you didn’t like this review. First of all, I wasn’t asked to review this book, I just borrowed it and decided to review it. Anyway, I didn’t have anything that I really loved about the books. I would say I loved Jane, but I can’t. Why? Because I found her two-dimentional. I would say I loved the story, but I can’t. Because the plot was pretty much predictable. Ordinary girl becomes famous. Makes mistake. SCANDAL!

      Moving on, yes I know Lauren is an actress by profession, still, I did not critic her acting did I? This is just my two cents about this book.

  3. A friend owns this one. I may borrow it. I don’t think i’d pay for it myself. I think your review of the book was valid well written.

  4. I like your review. I prefer honest reviews to ones that are fluffed up and fake because I don’t want to be reading a book that doesn’t sound like my kind of book. This doesn’t sound like my kind of book, but thats just me.

  5. This is on my TBR…….just because…….well I don’t know why. I’ve never watched Laguna Beach or The Hills but have always kind of been fascinated by L.C. Reminds me of Paris Hilton, only less trashy–rich girl does..nothing..and becomes rich and famous. But I do give her props for her writing attempts, despite all the negative reviews I’ve read. At least she’s trying to do something besides fake television. (Sorry L.C. fans :\)

  6. Great review! I’ve never watched LC’s show, but I’ve heard lots about it from my friends. I will most likely be checking this out just to see what all the buzz is about. =)

    hope.

  7. I remember seeing the cover for this, but even without having read your review, the plot isn’t really something I’m ordinarily drawn to. I think I’ll probably give this one a miss. As Rebecca mentioned above – I too appreciate your honesty in your reviews. That’s the whole point of them, readers give their personal opinion. Not everyone is going to like a book!

  8. Geat reveiw. I like how you were honest about it. I’ll take your advice and get it from the library instead.

  9. i agree with the reviewer. the book is pretty awful. characters are awful. ending is especially awful. i like LC but the book is baaaaad.

  10. When I heard about this book, I was all “Hmm, the author’s name sounds familiar, where have I heard it before?” (The Hills is a bit like my guilty pleasure). I still can’t believe she has written a book. And yes, it wasn’t too bad, but the abrupt ending was a major no-no.

  11. wow…. im reading the book now and i cant even get thru half of the book without getting disracted by somethign else around me. i cant just sit here and read this whole book. i love the hills and it seem what this book is based on and im bored because i already know. and i might not buy the next book, might just get it from a close friend….. but yea i still need a novel to read for my class rite now.. smh

Leave a Reply

