YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Knife by R.J. Anderson

As the Faery Queen’s appointed Hunter, Knife alone has the courage and skill to fight the crows and other predators who threaten the Oakenfolk’s survival. Yet neither she nor the Queen can do anything to stop a mysterious magical disease from claiming the faeries of the Oak one by one.
But there are humans at the bottom of the garden, and a glimpse inside their House convinces Knife that they have powers and knowledge that could help her people. Still, if the human world has so much to offer, why is the Queen determined to keep the faeries away from it? Is there a connection between the House and the Oakenfolk’s loss of magic? And why is Knife so drawn to the young Paul McCormick — that strangest of creatures, a human male?
Knife determines to learn the truth about the Oakenfolk’s relationship to humanity, no matter what the Queen might do to prevent her — a quest which threatens the growing friendship between herself and Paul, puts both their lives in jeopardy, and challenges everything Knife has ever believed about humans, faeries, and her own heart’s desire. And when at last Knife discovers the secret the Faery Queen has been hiding, she is forced to make an agonizing choice between love and freedom that will change her life, and the lives of her people, forever.

Knife started out slow and build up along the way. But towards the end, you would see that the pacing is just right (eh that probably doesn’t make sense to you). R.J. Anderson created a wonderful world of faeries, so different from the previous faerie books I’ve read! It was fascinating reading about the world Bryony lived in (she changed her name in the later part of the book). Then there are the humans whom the faeries fear. But the two world collide when Knife meets Paul. Knife starts questioning the things she know and seeks answers, with the help from Paul.

Knife was a brilliant main character, her feelings were real and she’s spunky, smart and simply lovable. Paul’s character was portrayed realistically. The other secondary characters were all unique in their own way which made me love them all. The mystery builds up throughout the book and it was just so engrossing. I was very reluctant to put Knife down. Knife was an entertaining, captivating and heartwarming tale which will appeal to readers who like books on faeries. Not to be missed! The ending will leave you begging for more.

Watch Jackson Pearce’s awesome video review of Faery Rebels/Knife.

Silver and a half Gold star (aka 4/5 stars)

Comments on: "Knife by R.J. Anderson" (8)

  1. I’ve some good reviews and some bad for this book.But it sounds like something I’d like. I love the 2 different names/covers.

  2. I’ve had this book on my reading list for a while now. I haven’t gotten to it yet but I may have to get it sooner. I prefer the cover of Knife which is the one I’ve seen around here.

  3. I haven’t got into the fairy novels that have been out of late but I do like the fact that the faeries are small. I like the knife cover the most out of the two.

  4. I haven’t gotten into many fairy novels lately, but this one looks promising… I’ll have to check it out.

    hope.

  5. Ohhh this does sound interesting! To be honest I haven’t actually read any fairy/faery (the second spelling seems to be more popular in novels, I think!) books, but I seem some with really intriguing descriptions. Is it time to join the winged creatures world, Brodie? I think it is! Brilliant review😀

  6. I’ve been wanting to read this book but just haven’t gotten around to it. I liked your review and the video of Jackson Pearce’s review as well.

  7. Jennifer L said:

    I have this under the Faery Rebels title. Haven’t read it yet, but I love stories about the fae.

  8. Great review and I love your video-very funny haha

Leave a Reply

