YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty-especially if they learn of her Sight-and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.
Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.
But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King, who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. His is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost-regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; everything.
Faery intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning twenty-first-century faery tale.

Fans of Melissa Marr please do not kill me for this review. I did not enjoy Wicked Lovely as much as I hoped I would. I liked it but did not love it. Do you know the feeling when you’re eating something without any sauce and it’s just plain? This is how I felt when I read Wicked Lovely. The book was told in different point of views and it made it hard to keep track in the beginning. Some characters were not properly introduced and I was left wondering who the heck they are. To me, the writing was not engaging so the book took me a week to read when usually I am quite a fast reader. I felt some scenes were unnecessary and where there just to make the book longer. The story gets boring after a while, Aislinn sees faeries, she goes to Seth, Seth comforts her.

I never really liked Keenan or any other faery. The only character I liked was Seth. But still, scenes with Seth could be better written and there could have been more background information about him. As for Aislinn, I just did not like her. There was so little of character development for Aislinn, quite frankly I have no idea what her personality is like. She’s just this dull main character who sees faeries.The other human characters were not developed very well either.

Wicked Lovely did not live up to my expectations. It’s really sad as the book had so much potential but failed. I honestly have no intention on reading Ink Exchange but might read Fragile Eternity. Give this book a go if you like faerie books but there are better books out there such as Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston, Faery Rebels by R.J. Anderson and Wings by Aprilynne Pike. And I suggest getting it from the library.

Bronze star

Comments on: "Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr" (12)

  1. I agree that it wasn’t my favorite either. I listened to it on CD and the lousy narrator may have had something to do with it.

  2. I wanted to like Wicked Lovely too. But didn’t.

  3. For me it was to hard to get into at first, but after I while I started to real enjoy it. The only thing I found bad about it was a) some of the description was confusing and b) fairies that human life and are scary were hard to imagine at first.

    Anyways great review.

  4. I really like this series.Too bad you didn’t like it as much as you wished.

  5. I like your review. I thought Wicked Lovely was not bad of a book but to me personally, it wasn’t the best book out there.

  6. 1inseveralbillion said:

    This book was hard to get into in my opinion but I’m glad I finished it, it was quite good. I agree with you, I only liked Seth. Aislinn was OK but I didn’t like Keenan much.

  7. It has a pretty cover but I haven’t enjoyed fairy novels, so I don’t think I’m going to make an effort to buy this one perhaps the library.
    Thanks for the review.

  8. My friend has been trying to get me to read this book forever, but I’m just not that into fairy novels. Great review. =)

    hope.

  9. I’ve read some good reviews on this and others, with not so fond opinions. I’ve been debating whether or not to pick up a copy. I want to give fairy novels a try and I heard this series has been picked up to become a movie? (I think). Hmm…. I’ll give the first a go from the library and see if I likey!

  10. I was disppointed with this book as well.

  11. Jennifer L said:

    Have this, haven’t read it yet, got it signed when the author was at a signing at Anderson’s Bookstore in Naperville, IL (along with Kim Harrison and Kelley Armstrong). But I loved the other two books in the series, and I’m looking forward to the fourth.

    And the movie, of course.

Leave a Reply

